Christmas Painting | Merry Christmas | Xmas Socks in Watercolour

in GEMS3 years ago

Hi everyone! First of all, I would like to wish Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to everyone!!! I hope you are able to celebrate it, perhaps with little ways of brightening the festival up in the midst of the chaos due to the ongoing pandemic.

Christmas Painting Hive thumbnail.jpg

I love the season of Christmas because it is fun and a time where my extended family members and I gather. We could not do much this year though we did meet up for a brief few hours. Today, I am going to share a painting that I made for Christmas two days ago. It is a watercolour painting.

Tools and Materials

  • Semiart watercolour palette
  • A sketchbook with 300gsm papers
  • A HB pencil to draw the outlines
  • A dust-free eraser to correct mistakes
  • A tissue paper to absorb excess water
  • A water brush
  • A white pen

Method

P_20201222_120233_HDR.jpg

This is my drawing. I got a new sketchbook with artist grade papers and I wanted to test them out with this painting. I just used a HB pencil to draw the outlines.

P_20201222_183808_HDR.jpg

I began the painting with the colour red. I painted the socks first because it was the easiest and painted the red parts. Then, I started painting the green parts. I mixed the colours a little with darker tones on one edge to create some shading.

P_20201222_200054_HDR.jpg

I was done painting the socks. I built up the layers by repainting them after the previous layer dry up. I did multiple layers on certain areas. I also did some patterns like checked patterns and also some plants on the socks. The others were mostly geometric like triangles and circles.

P_20201223_102125_HDR.jpg

Next, I painted the candies in the Christmas socks. I miss eating them :D I don't have a sweet tooth but I certainly do miss some of the candies I used to eat as a child. I stayed with the theme colour of red and green except for one.

P_20201223_105126_HDR.jpg

I added more layers on the candies including some darker shades on the edges. I also painted a little plant. I added some grey wherever I thought was applicable. Then, I painted the Christmas ornaments which are in this case, some Christmas bulbs.

P_20201223_105140_HDR.jpg

By the way, this is the watercolour palette that I used.

P_20201223_130309_HDR.jpg

Adding some darker shades to create shadows and therefore, some contrast is a great way of making a painting more alive. So did I. I made some of the parts darker by adding more darker shades like on the plant. I also added another layer of colour and darker edges on the Christmas ornaments.

P_20201223_163247_HDR.jpg

I added a few more details to the painting at this stage. I used some phthalo green on one of the candies and added a few more layers of colours to the plant. I also made the edges of the other candies darker and added more shading. For the Christmas ornaments, I added more darker tones to make it look more 3 dimensional.

P_20201223_165522_HDR.jpg

Finally, I used a white pen to add the final details to the socks. candies and the Christmas ornaments. Some of them were patterns to make the subjects look more interesting. On the other hand, some of the details are highlights to give the items a 3D look. It was my first time making highlights with a white pen and I am happy that it turned out well without a mess.

afe59f2218e75e9b8e7e4693d0d61c97d9ba3d72e1ab0a99b786552c340eccff.0.png

I hope that you have a great Christmas! Thank you for dropping by and I hope that you don't find my post annoyingly long. Happy Christmas again! ☺☺☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76