What is the universal meaning of life?

in GEMS3 years ago

Before we start



I am planning to post some more philosophical notes in the nearest weeks, hoping to start the conversation about the most significant things in our lives. I present my point of view here, but what is really important to me is to learn how others, with different cultural background and different life experiences, see the same things. I will be more than happy if you would leave the comment below.

Until now the posts were published in different communities as I am still looking for the best place to settle.

The series includes my point of view...

  1. about the economics
  2. about love and polyamory

About the meaning of life



What would be the thing which makes our existence meaningful? Is there any universal answer for that question?

People who believe in God, no matter what name that God would have, might answer that the meaning of life is included in the path to salvation. That would mean being a "good person", following some rules and not making harm to others. Not everyone believes in higher power though. 16% of worldwide population is irreligious and in the life of over 52% citizens of well developed countries religion is not as important as other things and it's importance constantly decreases. (1) (2)

In our searching of meaning of life we could focus on more biological reflexes. Nature designed all the life to make survival of the species crucial. If we already have kids, there is huge chance that our meaning of life will be related to providing bright future for them - making sure they are safe, fed, they get proper education and the best start in the adult life we can guarantee them. As much as that might be the true for many of us, there are people who cannot or don't want to become parents and it's absolutely fine. Sometimes the reason to stay childless is the result of the financial situation, sometimes is the fear for the future of kids who will be forced to live in post-global warming reality, infertility or just personal choice to focus on another things in life.

Average household size decreases each year and currently there is 51 countries with more than 35% of citizens who doesn't have any kids (1 person households + childless couples) (3)

Even though spirituality and biology might be two of the main reasons to make our life meaningful, there is still plenty of people who can't find themselves in that areas, so it can't be called "universal values". I'm one of them - as atheistic and childless gay, I would have to look for another way to make my existence meaningful.


Does universal answer exist at all?



Its difficult to answer for that question. The truth is that we, as the individuals, are choosing what is really meaningful for us. There are some answers which are more common than the others, but it would be difficult to find one which would satisfy everyone.

If I would say that the meaning of life is making life of others people better, would it be true?

It would include taking care of own kids or, for those who don't have any kids, taking care of our beloved, family members or friends. Probably 90% would be fine with that answer but what about people with Alexthymia? It's about 10% of society worldwide which is unable to communicate their feelings and don't care much about feeling of others (4)

Is "being a good person" the universal answer?

Probably, but it means nothing. That answer just motivates us to ask more question. What does "good person" mean? Would it be the same for all of us? Do you think that conservatives and liberals, traditionalists and progressivists, capitalists and green activists can understand "being good" slightly in the same way?


Summary and my personal answer for the question



I assume we all have to accept that there is no universal answer and the meaning of life depends of our personal point of view and priorities we choose. As long as that priorities doesn't make any harm to others, should be embraced by the society, even if we don't share it.

For me personally, the most important thing is to make life of others better. Maybe it's biologically motivated - as I can't have my own children, I'm playing for the same team and fulfilling the need to increase chance of survival the specie by helping others. It would include charity, donating part of the incomes for people in need but also simple, everyday help in smaller tasks. We are programmed in the way which cause our altruistic behaviours stronger when we know the person we help, so obviously, I spend more energy on helping people who I know, who I love, although I am trying to be a "good person" in my meaning of this word to everyone, no exceptions.

Personal, additional meaning I'm finding in education. Not necessarily systematic, with the degrees achieved on universities. I like practical knowledge which travelling and talking with people from another cultures gives me. I believe it helps me to understand the world, gives me more tolerance for others behaviours and makes me feel more sympathy to the human kind.

What would be your meaning of life?


If you want to know me better, here is my achievement 1

@papi.mati

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87