Dangerous Territories 👩🏻‍🎨🌸🧡 (Watercolor On Pencils, Pencils On Watercolor!)

in GEMS4 years ago

As the title is self explanatory, today’s portrait is something that I have always wanted to explore but never enough courage to do so. Okay I did try one a long time ago but wasn’t too satisfied with it. I also felt that I didn’t have enough understanding of values so completely dropped the idea. I won’t say that I have 100% understanding of it even today but I’d like to think it is better than a year ago for sure. Plus it ain’t harming anyone 😛

I went through some 20 pictures before finally deciding on this one. Why? Because all of them seemed to goddamn tempting lol. And some were way too complicated. But I loved how the light was reflecting on her hair and also it was more interesting because of different facial features. I am certainly not more satisfied than the one I shared yesterday but then again the complexity is quite different in both of them. I am definitely planning on buying some strobe lights soon so that I can experiment with light on myself rather than running to the internet for such studies. One of my friend was able to suggest me some ways to capture good self portraits with different gel papers on those lights. And I have been very excited to try that on!


Now self portraits would be a fantastic subject of study for sure!


Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧡

Let's connect on Instagram!

1.JPG

2.1.JPG

A Little BTS:

I first did the base with watercolor pencils, after which I blended the colors with a wet brush only (no added colors). During the dry time I painted the background with a much darker color Cobalt Violet and a little black at the bottom of the page. Once the page was mildly dry I did another layer of colors with the pencils and a final one when it completely dried up.

I tweaked some corners and highlights with a wet brush again which wasn’t necessary but you can thank my mind for that as it likes to constantly point out areas of improvement in my paintings lol.


IMG_1293.JPG

IMG_1294.JPG

IMG_1295.JPG

IMG_1296.JPG

IMG_1297.JPG

IMG_1304.JPG

IMG_1305.JPG

2.JPG

Reference


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75