Are all the community account powering down?

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

It looks like we are going to have a long ride here…, so hop in let’s drive, during the journey you may not like the discussion I will be sharing, but I’ll still share anyways.

Isn’t it alarming how the number of power down has increased lately on the platform both in private accounts and community accounts? Have you noticed?

Trust me, this discussion might not end well, but It might help to better some situations and at least as an eye opener.


I was looking at the blog and discovered that a lot of top accounts are going down, and community accounts that were supported by users through sharing of beneficiaries to grow the account are also involved.


Come to think of it, who owned this account? It’s the users. Who owned the money in the account? Still the users, that simply means, it’s their money and so they decide to do what they want to do. So, what’s my business? I'll tell you...


Here you go....., I’ve got calls and texts from different Nigerian Users about why so many accounts in Nigeria are going down. Perhaps, a little panic from these innocent users, that’s why I come up with this content, I feel it is right to address this as a country Rep.


But still, I have another question, who owned the community account money?
It looks like I’ll have to skip that question for now, but definitely, I’ll answer during the course of this discussion and perhaps welcome your own contribution.


So, in this article, I am going to cover a few brief points on the raised topics using the following headings:

  • Effect of top Users power down
  • Effect of community power down
  • Who owned the community curation account?

Effect of top Users power down

Like I said before, it’s a choice if a user decides whether to power down or not, I mean it’s their money. But how about the negative effect on the minnows? how about the growth of the platform? Can that still be achieved? obviously, you know the answer...!!

I know most users have some delegate reasons why they do this yeah, that’s understandable. But looking overall, the number is increasing. But the spot that concerned me is the number of Nigerian users that are also affected by this. And so, I ask, what’s the problem?


Effect of community power down

The Steem community is one important feature of the steemit blockchain that can open the way to mass adoption of steem through different initiatives. And this can be achieved through different users who are willing to build such a network.

To build the growth of a community, more steem is needed. Who donates this steem? Different users. That means sometimes they have to set their beneficiaries to either 50%, 25%, 20%, 15% and some even set 10% to the curation account of that community.

The aim of all these contributions from different users is to grow the curation account of that community so that it can be used to support members of that community.

During this period, some steem is accumulated and the community is also supported by those with big stakes so that, such communities could be used to support its users. Here comes that question I skipped the other time. Who owned the community curation account?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it is those users who helped in building that community, because they build it and because the community was supported by big stakeholders so that it can be used in return to support their members.

In a situation whereby such an account is powered down or the initiator of such an account left the blog, who owned the fund in that wallet? I’ll let you share your opinion on this, feel free to do that in the comment section.

Though I made a little research checking on some communities’ policies when they were created and there were some that really caught my attention in this regard, I’ll like to feature just one.

The Deutsch Unplugged community…They made it clear that the account is for the members. And not just that, here is the interesting part, the keys of the account are shared among the controllers of the account.

Perhaps these little pieces taken from the article entitled : Community-Account von DEUTSCH UNPLUGGED published by @deutschunplugged below from the Deutsch Unplugged community might interest you.

Das Admin-/Mod-Team von Deutsch Unplugged verfügt über meine Wohnungsschlüssel, damit mich jeder von denen jederzeit zum Spielen besuchen kann. Wie auf dem Steem so üblich, spielen wir nach dem Lesen und Schreiben am liebsten mit Coins und Rewards. Jene, welche ich dabei gewinne, sollen dann der gesamten Community Deutsch Unplugged zu Gute kommen - kein Spielkamerad wird sich daran selbst bereichern.Source - original language published in German Deutsch

Maybe such policies could work in a platform like this, especially when it comes to the Country's community account.

Or maybe Multisignature wallets here in the platform could be used in a country community account to avoid a one-man action most especially in terms of power-down cases, this has become a serious matter of concern lately. Perhaps you have a different view, feel free to share.

we are interested in persons, as individuals. Not in communities we have no touch points with...

It's possible to divide the most important keys for such transactions into two or more parts: Initiators have to work together. For more trust and more security......otherwise, users will lose trust in communities...


My Message to Nigerian Users

Nothing is wrong with the platform, stop being panicky. Keep blogging, and invest in power-ups. Keep doing your best and focus...."Woosah"!!

Should you have any observation/enquiry...feel free to ask....

About Me

Sort:  

we are interested in persons, as individuals. Not in communities we have no touch points with...

That means: if one doesn't trust in his community, in it's founders and admins, it's not the best choice to publish there and to build up this account. Use proper tags, be visible for the mass of readers who are interested in your topics, your experiences... You don't need a community to have success. It can be a good thing when it's lead by honest leaders. But it's not a condition to post on Steemit!

 2 years ago 

Thats it..., but that trust needs to be there.

Building a community isn't actually a bad thing ...,belonging to a community isnt bad as well.

But that trust needs to be there..

#lucky10

You don't need a community to have success. It can be a good thing when it's lead by honest leaders. But it's not a condition to post on Steemit! ✅

Loading...
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Trust me when I say I was really worried when I noticed some accounts powering down and some of the users I know. It was very disturbing but I think am calm now.
Steem on

 2 years ago 

I am glad you are calm now. You definitely have nothing to worry about.., focus on your content creation.

 2 years ago 

Alright boss I will..

Thank you so much

 2 years ago (edited)

Honestly the rate of powering down account in Nigeria is alarming, and it's affecting the minnows negatively, they are scared that the platform will crash.

Well, I like your suggestion about how community account can be keep save, I think your idea is a workable one. That trust needs to there, because so far many are losing faith in community, but with this assurance they will once again feel safe and secure .

Lastly, I want to reassure my fellow Nigerians that nothing bad will happen to Steemit, nothing is wrong with Steemit. No need to be panic, All head up, let's continue to Steem on!!!

 2 years ago 

Thank you goodybest for responding and also appreciating the need to create this alert.
I know you will want to stand for what is right.

From my little skull..., i think the points i've raised are important and were open for discussion.

🎩🎩🎩

Hop in my massarati 🕺🕺🕺🕺🕺

Your article is quiet intriguing Sir, but I believe the hand writing on the wall is very obvious to the steemit team. It would have been lovely they address this issue them self as to why top accounts are on power down so they can air their views and come to a better consensus with the platform because its quite going to affect the system negatively if nothing is done.

Moreover, building an account or either convincing or wooing people to build an account isn't my concern rather what led to the power down should be an issue of concern over here. Steemit has come to stay and what is happening now is what I call "more push for concretizing democracy" so if anything is wrong, we have a capable team that has good solution to the upheaval and if nothing is done within a short period, the reverberation may be worse than what we may think of. Thanks for summoning courage to put up an article as this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85