Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 51: A Day Like A Thousand Years. By @rossnenye

in Steem4Nigerialast month
It's week 55 already! Thank you @steem4nigeria for organizing this contest. Good afternoon to you guys, hope your day is going well? Welcome back to my blog.

pexels-diimejii-2853664_1.jpg
Source

"A Day Like A Thousand Years"

A Day like a Thousand Years is a phrase which has so many interpretation. It can denotes a day that seems like forever, a day that seems like the clock is not ticking and the time is on stands still. It can also denote a day full of so many suspense and emotions.

It also has a Biblical reference where in 2 Peter 3:8 and it quoted thus"But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day." This verse shows that God's timing and that of man is not the same. He always does things at his own pace.

In the year 2011, I wrote my common entrance examination and passed very well. The next exam I wrote was an entrance examination into a Prestigious Catholic Secondary school in my state. After writing the exams and when the results were out I performed excellently and was offered admission into the school.
pexels-energepic-com-27411-110471.jpg
Source

My mom visited the school and collected the prospectus for a new student. I was so happy that I couldn't wait for the day I will finally go to school. My parents bought so many things for me that made me to anticipate the resumption day because I have heard so much about the boarding house from my older siblings and Cousin. On that very day, it was a Sunday.
pexels-pixabay-265129.jpg
Source

My dad said he was going to drop off at the School before it's very far from us. He said we would be leaving the house by 2.30pm but that time seems like ages coupled with the fact that my dad went for a meeting. I checked the time with the passing minute and it seems like the clock was dragging it's feet. That day, it took forever to reach 2.30pm.

Thanks for reading through my post, I invite @jameshonesty, @ukpono, and @salifu to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

The figure of speech "a like a thousand years" can be referred to as a day that seems to be delayed due to challenges or eagerness for something good.

Good things you heard about boardinghouses made you eager to resume high school, and the day you were to be taken to the school, your Dad had a meeting, and the allotted 2:30 pm seemed delayed because of your eagerness to be in school. I enjoy reading your post, and I wish you all the best in this contest.

I hope the anxiety really ended well, you enjoyed your stay in the school because you cannot be that anxious and still didn't enjoy your stay there😂 .your experience is lovely and funny, best wishes.

 last month 

You were really anxious and was eargely waiting for your Dad to return from the meeting he went to so you can go to school. That 2:30pm seems like forever.

Best wishes 💯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63707.79
ETH 2610.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81