Valley Carpenter Bee

in Beauty of Creativitylast year

This bee was stopping by on the leaf. It's been quite a while, I don't see it hanging out there. So, right after noticing it from distance. I rushed into my home and grabbed the camera to get a couple of shots. It moved quite a lot during midday which made me waited for little longer to have good time for the shot. It is known Valley Carpenter Bee (Xylocopa sonorina) refers to their habit of boring into the wood and their job damaging structure by making circular holes inside the wood. They are not like common bees such as honeybees, bumblebees, or other kinds of bees that live in colonies, carpenter bees are not included in social insects family. They build their own nest in trees and sides of buildings. Unlike the other time, I saw it was accompanied by other carpenter bees that came here to search for food on flowers. I managed to get another shot when its wing open. To get this picture, I had to deal with speed, and focus that might not leave behind.

_AHW2882.jpg

_AHW2892.jpg

_AHW2843.jpg

_AHW2877.jpg


CameraNikon D7000
CategoryInsect Photography
LensTamron Tele-Macro 70-300

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89