Hey everybody. I think that if you want to really get to know someone, it's essential ...

in APPICS4 years ago

... to know about their past, especially their childhood.

And I've realised that lots of things make sense to people when they hear that I grew up in Thailand. (or they are just confused)

Yup, I spent a total of 13 years of my childhood in Chiangmai, Thailand (was born in Witzenhausen though, love the sound of it 😆). I identified as a foreigner my whole life and when I came to Germany I felt like a hidden immigrant -looking and talking German but not really fitting in yet. I realised that many people struggle to pinpoint their identity in such a globalised world. It's not so normal anymore to have a fixed place or culture you can call home. So these are topics I gave lots of thought since I left my family there and started a new chapter in my life. (I guess, you call it "being an adult"?)
Feel free to ask about it, I love to share thoughts!

So, a warm hello to all the adult TCKs (Third Culture Kids), everybody with a migration background and all the rest, I bet many people can relate, right?

  • Debby

    7092e3d1f437de5fe6aab538487683b5

    Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com
Sort:  

That's definitely true... I know many Thais in Germany who aren't happy 😉

I know many TCKs like me who really have a difficult time anywhete since being uprooted. I read a quote about that recently: "Er, der unzufrieden ist an einem Ort, wird selten glücklicher an einem anderen Ort." Aesop, griechischer Dichter

Das stimmt natuerlich auch 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36