Contest Announcement #4 : YOUR BAD HABITS FOR HEALTH | Nomination from @sampu | My bad habit for health is excess sugar

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago

Hello to my fellow Steemitians in Steem Healthcare community !! As a part for "Your Bad Habits For Health" contest, I will share about my bad habit which is very harmful for health.

The habit is, eating excess sugar. This is the biggest bad habit I have in terms of health.

Since childhood, I'm very fond of sweets and always ask for extra spoon of sugar while having milk. Later on, I used to take 3-4 spoons of sugar in a cup of tea or coffee.

P_20170521_125928_1_p.jpg

The most detrimental effect of sugar over my health is my obesity. The high amount of sugar that we consume which is not required by body gets convert into glycogen and stored as fat. Thus fatty-liver develops.

I was once hospitalized in 2017 due to a massive chest pain and primarily it was supposed to be heart attack. The cardiologist explained that due to high sugar consumption, the inflammation increases, blood pressure increases and triglyceride level also increases. These often leads to heart disease.

P_20170519_175841_1_BF_p.jpg

As per the dentist, eating excess sugar also lead to formation of tooth cavity.

Apart from these, sugar reacts with protein and forms Advanced Glycation Endproducts which damage collagen and elastin present in the skin and leads to skin wrinkles. High sugar also increase joint pain, risk of rheumatoid arthritis, diabetes and even cancer.

IMG_20210616_130551.jpg

As a remedy, I have started using Stevia extract. It taste like sugar without the bad effects. This is the extract from a Stevia plant (Stevia rebaudiana). A 20ml pack costs 385 INR in India, which is around 12 STEEM or 5.25 USD. This pack contains around 400 servings. The product I currently using is a Made in India product. I'm not sure if this is available outside India. However, I'm sure similar products are definitely available in other countries.

IMG_20210616_130539.jpg

Disclaimer : The above opinion for that particular product is my personal opinion and not any promotion. I declare that in past I received / in future I will receive no monetary benifit or discount or free sample for writing this post.

The photographs used in this post are clicked using my mobile phones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.038
BTC 69269.31
ETH 3493.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.53