Cheap Games worth buying on PS4: Unravel 2

in Steem Gaming3 years ago

I am a sucker for a nicely designed side (for the most part) scrolling platformer, especially when it is has some amount of innovation in it and isn't crazy difficult just for the sake of being crazy difficult. This is why I do not like games like Super Meat Boy and CupHead which I suppose isn't really a platformer... or is it? I guess it kind of is?

Anyway, my favorite kind of platformers unfortunately are few and far between where a story is in there but they don't necessarily tell it to you. You have to figure it out. Unravel is one of these games and it is also quite beautiful


src

This game consists mostly of puzzles that for the most part are not terribly difficult to figure out. I would imagine that most people can probably complete this game in 4-5 hour and never need to Youtube any of the various parts. They are pretty intuitive but are also engaging enough that you don't lose interest.

Unlike in Unravel 1 you have a partner with you this time that you have the ability to be attached to if need be (and this is a major factor in a lot of the puzzles you face.)


Unravel-TWO_001.png
src

All wer really know about these two creatures is that a red yarn creature was separated from his (or her) human and ends up washed up on the shore somewhere and is sad until it encounters a blue yarn creature.

They go on a series of adventures while tied to one another and the puzzled mostly consist of you sending one Yarny over the side of something to dangle the other one somewhere. It sounds stupid, but it is actually a lot of fun.


Copy_of_Fireproof.jpg
src

Part of what makes this game so lovely is that the Yarnys are tiny little creatures, so the world around them is filled with rather ordinary objects but because they are so small we are privy to a whole different perspective on what it would be like if you were only a few inches tall. Kind of like Honey I Shrunk the Kids but not stupid.


13-06-2018_12-53-36.png
src

One of the main things about this game that I love so much is the music. I don't really know how to explain it but it is just perfect and is extremely well done. If I could listen to this soundtrack without even playing the game I would do so. It rounds out the perfect experience that is this game.

The only downside that some people may face is that the game is quite easy and also not terribly long but that doesn't really bother me that much. Sometimes games that are too long end up not getting completed by moi because I don't need a long experience, I just want a good experience. Games that are too difficult are not for me either and I tend to quit with the intention of coming back later and having another go, then I forget the controls and this makes it even MORE difficult, and then I end up just deleting the game altogether.

By my standards this game is a 2/5 as far as difficulty is concerned and can probably be relatively easily completed by most gamers, even casuals like me, in 4 hours or so. But you are really going to enjoy those 4 hours!

Unravel 2 can be picked up just about anywhere for most consoles and PC for around $5. I think it is definitely worth it.

Sort:  

To me, Cuphead is a mix between a Metroidvania game, a platformer and a Souls game. That shit drove me insane when I played it.

This game looks pretty decent, especially for only $5. I wish I could get into platformers more, but, I always have a hard time getting into them. The only one in recent times that was so good I could have milked myself over it was Little Nightmares/Little Nightmares 2.

Little Nightmares was awesome, i haven't played 2 yet, I'm waiting for the price drop or I suppose I could just torrent it. If you haven't done so play Inside .... best platformer story ever.

Do you know any interesting games based on the TRON Blockchain? I'd like to try gaming on Tron

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99