[Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai] Awesome Announcement That Somehow Left Me a Bit Disappointed

in INVEN Gaming4 years ago

Yesterday I watched The Adventure of Dai's Livestream in which they announced the anime and the games based on the 90's Shonen Jump manga which itself was inspired by Dragon Quest game series.

screenshot.1590680697 2.jpg

The stream was entirely in Japanese and I couldn't understand what they were saying, but I watched it via Sackchief's Youtube Channel. The guy is one of my trusted sources for Dragon Quest news and content. Sackchief's re-stream had additional commentary over the Japanese audio so we did understan more than a few parts from the stream by listening to his team's commmentary.

The Anime Remake was the first thing Dai's Project Team announced. They announced release date of the anime (October 2020) and a bit of information about the characters and their voice actors. There was two trailers for the anime (the first one wasn't new.) I like the visual style of the remake, though I miss the 90's style of the original!

Then they started talking about the game. They said the game has "three" something, and we mistranlated it as three platforms.

Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai - Tamashii no Kizuna: was announced and it was a mobile game (Android/iOS.) It looked great for a mobile game, but I don't like mobile games in general. (Especially ones made in Japan where the chances of them getting English are slim.) I was very disappointed because I thought this is the Dai game the publisher was talking about all along...

Then as we were chatting while watching the stream, a second announcement happened:

Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai - Xross Blade: It was a Card Game for Arcades in Japan. The game has many similarities with Dragon Ball heroes, which got a Special Edition version on Nintendo Switch.

They showcased the Arcade machine and the battle system for the game. The game & the cards used to play it look amazing! But I'm sure this game will never release outside Japan as Arcades industry is non-existing outside of that country. Anyway, Xross Blade will release some time this year.

Watching this announcement, we realized that there is a third game! We hoped that the next game will be for one of the home consoles. I kept saying that I wanted a turn-based adaption of the story in the same style of DQXI. I was hoping for PS4 or Switch platforms

screenshot.1590680748.jpg

Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai - Infinity Strash: is the console game that was announced last! I got very excited for the trailer! Infinty Strash is an Action RPG that seems similar to the spin-off Dragon Quest Heroes,

There wasn't a lot of information because they didn't want to spoil the anime (more than the trailer did.) While the game will release in 2021, the console(s) that Infinity Strash will release on has yet to be revealed.

The cell-shaded graphic style of the game doesn't look very high end. I expect these graphics from a PS3 game no a game for this generation or the upcoming next gen of consoles. I think the game would find a suitable place in Nintendo Switch, but there were a bunch of games with lower budget that were released on PS4! I would get angry if it was a PS5 exclusive, with these graphics.

screenshot.1590680742 2.jpg

While I'm happy that there will be three games for The Adventure of Dai, I'm a bit disappointed that two of them will probably be Japan exclusive, and the third one which might release in English doesn't seem to have a big budget to compete with the mainline Dragon Quest games.

I know I set my expectations too high. The chances of a game adaptation of the anime story or a turn-based mainline-like title. I should be glad that Dai is getting love in the first place. (It was the first anime I watched in my life. Arabic Dub of course.)

And who knows, maybe Infinity Strash not only get an English release, (the chance of which is high because the title in the trailer IS in English) but also turns out to be a bunch of fun!

What do you think?


All images in this article are taken from Infinity Strash trailer.
And no, the game isn't a Trash!
Sort:  

This post has been rewarded by the Steem Community Curation Project. steemcurator02(#communitycuration02)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53