The Diary Game (20/06/2020): A Great Day Even in Lock Down

in Steeming Community4 years ago

Good day steemians, welcome to my diary post for today, Saturday 20th June 2020.

Here in Ogun state, Nigeria, there is free movement every work day, but on Saturdays and Sundays, there is lock down, so as not to allow people hold parties, and so that large religious gatherings will not hold. These, of course are some of the measures being undertaken to curtail the spread of the novel corona virus. This means today was a day in lock down. I however decided to make it fun for myself.


IMG_20200524_230055_311.jpg


I woke up quite early, around 5:00am, and I could not get any more sleep. I got up to write a post and this took me a lot of time, because it involved so much research and surfing other people's blogs. My wife woke up while I was in the middle of the post and asked that I help her with fixing breakfast. I loved the idea, and so I paused my writing and got cracking. I decided to make Spaghetti with eggs. I decided to make do with whatever ingredients I find in the kitchen, since it's lock down, and what can be gotten around is limited.

IMG_20200621_120025_440.jpg

The main constituent of the meal of course is the Spaghetti. I prefer tiny spaghetti brands, and that's why we always buy this particular brand - Golden Penny Pasta - Spaghettini. The first step is that I partially cooked these in already boiling water, while I prepared other ingredients and spices ready. The other ingredients and spices I used include blended pepper, 2 seasoning cubes, curry and thyme, salt and vegetable oil.

IMG_20200620_092630.jpg
Dried Crayfish

IMG_20200620_095944.jpg
Seasoning

image.png

IMG_20200620_094427.jpg

I love my dried crayfish being blended into powdered form, and the cup for blending dry stuff in our electric blender is broken, so I resorted to the traditional method of pounding with small mortar and pestle. Here is the dried crayfish in the mortar as I pounded it.

IMG_20200620_101920.jpg

By the time I was done with pounding the crayfish, my spaghetti was soft enough. so I poured it into a sieve to drain the water, and I also added more water to wash off any excess starch and ready to be cooked. By this time, I was also ready with the ingredients to make the stew.

IMG_20200620_094727.jpg
Diced onions and tomatoes

I started by drying my pot on the fire from the gas cooker, and I added vegetable oil. I then added some of the onions and tomatoes to the oil, and I added the blended pepper. the seasoning cubes, curry and thyme, and then the granulated crayfish in that order. I also added salt and covered to cook for about seven minutes.

IMG_20200620_101138.jpg

This is what it looks like after cooking for that time. Although I prefer partially blended pepper for cooking spaghetti, I had to make do with the well grounded one that was available in the freezer. The partially blended pepper always have a fresher and sweeter taste. We had also gone out of stock of canned fish, so I was going to substitute that with eggs. At this stage, I was ready to add the boiled spaghetti. I added spaghetti, put little water, and covered the pot to steam for about 3 minutes, after which I stirred the whole mixture, and I reduced the fire, and left to steam for another 3 minutes.

IMG_20200620_103806.jpg

While I left the spaghetti to steam, I had boiled an egg, and opened two others to be fried. This is because my wife prefers boiled eggs while I prefer it fried. I had added salt, diced onions and tomatoes to the eggs, and I beat the mixture to be uniform. I then dried the frying pan on the fire and added oil. I poured the beaten egg mixture, and poured in the hot oil in the frying pan, frying the egg in one-piece, and flat.

IMG_20200620_104429.jpg
And Breakfast is served...

Forgive me, I was too enthusiastic that I did not remember to add our forks before taking the pictures :p

image.png

After breakfast, I returned to writing my post, and I spent the afternoon playing games on my mobile phone, and I also took a nap. Later in the evening, I and my wife went on a stroll to the nearest bus stop to our house, and we bought bread and some plantain there, and we returned home.

image.png

We later had some bread with stew for dinner, and some gisting, since we had power outage. This we did till it was time to go to bed.

That was how my day went. Hope you had a nice read. I would appreciate your comments, or a brief of how that day was for you in the comment section below. I also seize this opportunity to invite my fellow Nigerian steemians to join the diary game on steem. To get details of the rules of participation as well as the rewards, please check out the latest diary post update post.

I invite @prechyrukky @olawalium @oredebby @DFacademy @oluwatobiloba @opeyemioguns @mhizerbee @tudors @homer27 @esther-dee @swazey @olamisexy @samal @feliicia @absuccess @ulqu3 @samirich @davidad @cherylsonty @femcy-willy @greatness97 @c-diamond @black.moses @febbykeys @wadamet @prezzie @voclab. Please, start today as there are many rewards that await you. Please in your first diary post, mention that you were invited to join by @tolustx.

Thank you very much...

I remain...

20200607_105714.gif

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Thank you for taking part in The Diary Game on Steem.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Nice post glad you are talking part in this.

Thank you for your nice comment.
Steem on...

I also learned to do several things in this triumphant period of isolation,

Thank you for being awesome! You just got upvoted by the @steemingcurators. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator02 account to support the best content on Steemit!

Want to participate in contests and challenges to earn more?
Follow @steemingcurators and also the official @steemitblog for info about Steemit and the Daily Diary Challenge! Share your stories on Twitter or other social media to get extra upvotes. Just comment the link in your posts!

We hope you like live music too because #musicforsteem
STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65856.98
ETH 2663.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88