Steeming Community Contest | "Your Story 2" Parenting; In the Eyes of Your Child

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

A Blessed Sunday to all Steemingzen, may your day filled with Inspiration and Positivity.

This is @bellekiss-31 from the Philippines sharing my entry to the Steeming Community "Your Story 2" by @fabio2614. Still talking about Parenting which I entitled "Parenting; In the Eyes of Your Child."
photo_editor_ds_1623354098667.jpg

*** **One scary morning when Juan’s dad was so angry and scolded him because he played their newly bought alcohol and wasted all of it, but he’s not admitting it. While disciplining his 7 years old son, Juan's mom felt pity when she saw her crying son. She tried to protect him from his husband's anger and hug Juan. Then Juan's dad stopped and respected his wife's gesture, though he knew she's wrong in showing such actions in front of their child. His husband left and went to their bedroom. While preparing to sleep, her husband opened the issue about what his wife did in tolerating Juan's mistake. The husband told his wife that they have different ways in disciplining their son's behavior, and he respected that, but she asked her that moving forward she should not be doing it, like showing her son that she's giving him the favor and tolerating his mistake just because she felt pity for him. They agreed, and he let her understood that by doing so, even if their child is at fault, he would think he's always right and in his eyes his father was wrong. The wife listened to it by heart and totally understood his husband. From then the wife always rely on his husband in disciplining Juan being the ruler of the family.

To cut the long story short, their son Juan grown to be a Good & Obedient son, and he even graduated and became a Policeman in their City. He set as a good example, role model to the youth and to the community. All of this was because his parents never tolerated his mistakes and teach him how to learn from it instead. They took good care of him, and they hone him to become a good person as he is. Both husband and wife agreed to meet halfway and always make it a habit to communicate with each other to strengthen the bond of their family.** ***

As part of parenting, we as parents needs to be very careful with how we discipline or handle our children's behavior. How we correct them from their wrong deeds and to become right. We should always remember that what our children can see and observed from our actions may always be right in their eyes.
2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9x7SyffA2yJx5fs5JMBWTJvV2tajXMa9HNTomRjDH6ndPneabFs7hGwfYC8a5pdnQM12jaQcx3uQrYQU19PhETNAFFJZsen.png
(photo from the contest)

Looking at the picture above, what came to my mind was the very first instance I interrupted and made a mistake when my husband once discipline my eldest son. As a mother and human as we are it really hurt our feelings if someone scold our son/daughter regardless of whatever reasons and whoever is involve. Believe me that incident gave me much lessons in disciplining our children and I made it a point not to do it again or else I may suffer the consequences in the future.

This happened when one time my husband scolded my son for his mistake and I found my husband telling my son harsh words, telling our son how to admit mistakes and not to tell lies when he has done wrong was not really harsh and just a reality check for me. But as a mother I find it harsh because I was like one sided at that time, I was only focused on the thought that my son was crying, my son felt afraid and forgot that my husband was just doing the right thing as a responsible father.
photo_editor_ds_1623577212941.jpg

In a separate conversation my husband explain to me and let me understand the mistake I made. He wanted us moving forward to have a good and nice way of approach when disciplining our kids. He also told me that showing our kids that we are angry because they did wrong was not totally wrong. It's another way of letting our kids understand that we care for them. So long as we will not hurt them physically it's should be fine. We should let our kids learn from their mistakes or experience.
photo_editor_ds_1623566974260.jpg

Parents have different ways on how we discipline our children. What I did was totally wrong, but this is also true to many soft hearted mother's out there like me. Showing our children that we favored them even if they're wrong was like spoiling them and in their eyes and heart even if it's wrong it can be right because we are there for them.

When we, as mothers will continue to spoil our kids and show them that whoever will scold them or correct their wrong doing we are there for them. In their eyes it's right and soon they will grow to be someone who's lack of self control and arrogant. Some real results when trying to spoil or tolerate the wrong doing of your child as they grow were the following, this is just base on some friends and relatives I knew.

Spoiled brat as they grow to be:

  • Lack of respect to others
  • Disobedience at school
  • Attention seekers
  • Wanted special treatment
  • Most likely not to admit mistakes
  • Troublemaker
  • Disobedience to their parents

These behaviors would always lead them to the wrong path. So, to all parents if you don't want your children's future to be at stake, we should start showing them what is right from wrong. It's not wrong to be angry because they did something wrong, just be angry to what they did, but not with them. As couple you should not correct them in front of your children and be discreet if you have concerns with how your partner handle your kids behavior. Communicate with each other and you should come up with an agreement on how you should handle your kids well, for them to grow to be a person that you want them to be and be a proud parent someday.
photo_editor_ds_1623568151071.jpg

As for me, again lesson learned from this mistake was highly noted and applied. This might work for you fellow parents. I would like to invite my friends @sundae100230, @jenny018 and @rotchel my sister to join the contest which will end tomorrow June the 14th.

Thanks for spending your time in reading my entry. Stay safe and have a great Sunday to all!

Love & Care 💗 @bellekiss-31!
received_314598630159213.webp
gPCasciUWmEwHnsXKML7xF4NE4zxEVyvENsPKp9LmDaFuzqYucNDVEeVjneX5REAXg5qRKzgSqP9WQ29iY5hyacTyR3cYm3UKdSvBehsJyMewi4ydZqgNtP2bRnvn5vMcKtm3WXNSUSRkVEzFF.gif

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

!zen 30

It is good that you get along with your husband in disciplining your kids. I am sure your children are well guided.

Your entry has been approved. Your participation is highly appreciated. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 190%

 3 years ago 

Thanks for your hardwork and for your continuous support to the community.

 3 years ago 

I am proud to say that I grow up with my parents who's very strict with disciplining us their children. I even once said that I don't want to treat my children that way, but now I totally understood them, now that I have a family of my own. My husband's story was quite different since he grow up with his grandparents whom he used to call his Papa & Mama he's the only child of her mom, but he never grow up with her. That's why he's keen into details when it comes to disciplining his kids, and wanted to make sure that his children will never experience same with what he had when he's young and raised by his grandparents. (Unfortunately they're both in heaven now)

Thank you @fabio2614 for the support and for acknowledging my entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11