MUSIC FOR STEEM WEEK 16 - @cmp2020 Two Original Songs “A Bouquet and Revenge”

in Music For Steem 🎵3 years ago

Hello everyone! Thank you all for your support on last week's performance! I really appreciate this community, and all of the kind words that everyone offers! I am sorry that I have not been very active, but it is a busy time of year. I hope to begin writing a little bit more regularly soon enough.

This week I decided to do two original songs (which I usually pair together for performance). I wrote them both several years ago (as hard as it is to believe), and I still enjoy performing them. I hope to write more songs (and maybe perform some of the songs I have written but haven't published). If you want to read more about the process of composing these songs, and the lives of their respective poets, here is a link to an article I wrote.

Together, I think the two songs tell a story. I intended for the first to be sung by a baritone, and the second to be sung by a soprano. Together, I thought the poems could depict a love triangle with the first song being sung by the baritone to his new love, and the second song being sung by the jealous ex-girlfriend who was treated similarly at first, and now is forgotten. Here are the texts of the two songs (I also included subtitles in the videos):

A Bouquet (Edward Smyth Jones)

A blossom pink, a blossom blue,
Make all there is in love so true.
'Tis fit, methinks, my heart to move,
To give it thee, sweet girl, I love!

Now, take it, dear, this morn and wear
A wreath of beauty in thy hair;
Think on it, when from bliss we part -
The emblem of my wooing heart!

Revenge (Letitia Elizabeth Landon)

Ay, gaze upon her rose-wreathed hair,
And gaze upon her smile;
Seem as you drank the very air
Her breath perfumed the while:

And wake for her the gifted line,
That wild and witching lay*,
And swear your heart is as a shrine,
That only owns her sway.

’Tis well: I am revenged at last,—
Mark you that scornful cheek,—
The eye averted as you pass’d,
Spoke more than words could speak.

*A lay is another word for a song.

Here is my performance for this week. Obviously I cannot switch to being a soprano, so you will have to imagine what the second song would sound like sung by a soprano:

Music for Steem Playlist

Conclusion

Thanks for reading/listening to this, and thank you all for your continuous support!

Sort:  

There are interesting histories behind the two poets, too. I wrote about them last summer: Public domain poets: Edward Smyth Jones and Letitia Elizabeth Landon - A random glance at history.

That was great!
Thanks for sharing!

You r awesome @cmp2020

Hola @cmp2020 en verdad he quedado sorprendido con tu presentación 16, desconocía tu capacidad vocal al cantar y he quedado completamente satisfecho con lo logrado en tus canciones, además entiendo que son melodías originales, francamente estoy admirado con tu canto y estoy aplaudiendo aún esta entrada, me sentí VIP. Felicidades y mucho éxito en esta edición 16 de #musicforsteem...

Thanks for the performance again!
Been waiting for you. Love the music work you have done

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote or SteemAuto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76