TIME FOR HEALTH Writing contest week 01 : Maintaining a healthy life with a busy schedule.

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago
Hi Steemians!

Hope you all doing well, and this is my entry to the health contest organized by @anusha96. Here I would like to share some health tips with you all and hope you may collect something to your life after reading this. 🙌

For an introduction about my current life, I am a final year Engineering student and I am in a university hostel during normal days and visit home during weekends mainly. Due to covid-19 pandemic, university is closed, and I stay in my home with my family these days. Hope this is enough as an introduction to my day today life.

I am not having a perfect healthy life. But here are some health practices from my life.

Village vegetables instead of mass growing farm vegetables

I always prefer vegetables from my village and from ‘weekly fair’ or ‘daily fair’ of the area. Or most of the times, vegetables from my own home garden. In my country, chemical fertilizer usage is very high according to the researches and studies. So, I do not like those foods. Most of the time this issue comes with carrots, leeks, cabbage, beetroots, tomatoes etc like upcountry vegetables.
IMG_7995 (1).jpg

June plums

If you can collect jak fruits, baby jackfruits, breadfruits, June plums, unripe mangos, ash-bananas etc., normally they are free of chemical fertilizers. Also, them have a higher taste than other normal vegetables like carrot and cabbages.

grow your own foods at home.

image0.jpeg

Fruits from home garden

I recommend this step as a very much healthful step towards a healthier life. You know what you eat when you get your vegetables and fruits from your own garden. No chemical fertilizers at all. All are organic fertilizers. So, no side effects at the end.

Also working in the garden burns your extra calories and it leads you towards a healthier life. It will positively effect on your mental health also. Spending some time with nature relief your all stresses and worries. You will not need extra exercises at all.

Maintain a compost bin.

This thing will give you organic/ carbonic fertilizers for free. I usually add weeds that remove from the garden into this. My mom adds fallen leaves and degradable throw-out from the kitchen into this. You will not need chemical fertilizers for your plants then.

Take some time to look at the nature while you are in the university.

IMG_9778.JPG

Evening in the university hostel

I do this as a daily practice. No matter how much I am busy, I spend sometime looking at rains, clouds, birds on the electricity wires or in the hostel garden, colours in the sunset, trees while heavy winds, or a tree full of flowers etc.. Sometimes I capture them too. These things do not take much time but give me a great relief. I think this is good for your mental health.

Things to have a relaxed mind

61617892-CAEB-4998-97AC-759DBE524E04.JPG

Drawing time

Read a book, listen to a song from your favourite list, spend some time with your hobbies will help you to have a relaxed mind. My hobbies are drawing, sewing, cooking… and there are many in the list. I do not do academic works whole time. So, these things help me to have a relaxed mind.

dc08ac72-54fe-49e1-8af9-2641c63e5254.JPG

homemade ulundu wade

Work in the garden instead of exercising.

IMG_8789.JPG

Watering flower plants

I do not prefer doing exercise in order to burn extra calories. All I do is work in the garden. Walking in the garden, treat plants, grow new plants, move pots one place to another, making new plant fields, pull out weeds etc will help you to have required exercises easily. But this thing can be done only while I am staying in the home.

Exercises to a busy life.

When I am in the university, I cannot spend my time with nature. All we have to do is going from hostel to department and coming back to hostel. So, I do not have any exercises. Therefore, I always select staircases instead of elevator as much as possible. I like to walk here and there without being lazy to going out of the room or department. This will burn extra calories.

IMG_9529.JPG

Hostel staircase

These are the main factors that I can share with you. Hope you could grab something to your life from this post.

Wish you all a healthy life. See you next time. Have a nice day. 😍

Sort:  

Superb!! 🙊
Finally you joined

Yeah sorry for taking much time 🙊

Good entry Sandu... Good luck...🤗🤗

Ah I have missed your comment 🙊🙊

I think your entry for this contest is great, you really do enough actions that promote health and make them part of your daily life, I love that you include activities for mental health and recreation. Definitely the contact with nature and admire its beauty is something that generates wellbeing.
Greetings from Venezuela, have a great day.

Hi @syllem ❤️
Hope you could take something to your life by reading this.

I’m having kind of busy and tired life when I’m in the university due to my academic work. So mental health is important to avoid high stresses and depression. So I put much effort on this. 🙌

Love from Sri Lanka. Have a nice day too❤️

Hi,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
joining our Discord server, and delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79