Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 07 – The Love for my Parents: My Reason to Stay Alive

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

With our life with average lifetime of 72 years, we get to know many people. Some become friends, best friends, family, relatives, neighbors, lovers, enemies, competitors and many more. Some times friends become strangers, lovers become enemies, friends become family and so on. People come and go..! And...I am going to talk about some constants in our life.

There are two people in this world who are in our side whenever we need someone to help, someone to protect, someone to hold our hand, someone to give courage, someone to give a reason to smile, someone to give a hope to live and someone who scarifies their whole life, time, strength and energy on us.

IMG_E0623.JPG

These two individual can be called with a single word, "parents". Mother and Father or Amma and Thaththa in Sinhala. No matter the language, their love and affection cannot be expressed with words. But thinking about your mother and father and their scarifications on us can call a tear into your eye. It takes time to understand this love. This is something about my mother and father.

IMG_E0136 - Copy.JPG

My father is Asanka de Silva and 54 years old. He is the most handsome guy I ever knew. 😍 He is very strong, healthy, handsome, lovely, protective and many more. He is the strongest man in my world. Currently, he is suffering from some illnesses with time yet he is very handsome.

20210109_190327.jpg

If I tell you bit about my father, he is a retired Sergeant of Sri Lankan Army. He worked in 6th Field Engineers' Regiment. Most of his life he spent in Palali, Kilinochchi, Iranamadu and Diyathalawa army camps. He worked in Bomb Disposal Unit and accidently got injured from a mine while his service in the Northern areas of the country during civil war against LTTE.

IMG_E0606.JPG

We did not see our father for weeks at our childhood. Even when I was born. He used to carry me on his hand or shoulder wherever we went if he was at home. After he came back home after weeks, I used to sit on his chest eventhough he was sleeping and to grab his hair on the chest. And he never blamed me for those things though he was having a sleep at home after weeks, as my mother tells.

20210109_190309.jpg

I remember we were waiting for him to return home from the camp. I used to write letters after I learnt to write words as we did not have telephone facilities at that time. I still have a letter he sent me from Diyathalawa Camp. It is said that elder girl of the family is the female version of her father. And so I am. I am proud daughter who have inherited his chocolate colour and most of his features.


IMG_0379.jpg

And there is a heroine behind my every success story. My mother. She was very young when I was born. Now she is 48 years old and her name is Manori Wellage. She holds most of the credits of my every successful steps up to now. She is someone having the strength of a male in her female heart. She is a cry baby and so I am. But still she is the strongest woman in my world.

20210109_190342.jpg

She taught us, she protected us, she encouraged us, she admired us and she was there in every moment of our lives while my father protecting our country for thousands of other daughters and sons in the country. My mother's parents passed away when I was very little and my mother looked after us alone when father was not at home.

IMG_E0653.JPG

She can cook delicious foods. My university friends wait for her foods when I am going back to university from home. She cannot stay a single minute without doing something.

IMG_E8485.JPG

She does every household things yet though we help sometimes. I can not express my thoughts towards her love and affection. Summary is I got the best mom in the world.

20210109_190418.jpg

I cannot pay back for everything they gave me. I am very much thankful to these two souls for bringing me up to here. And they are going to be parents for two Engineers in the near future though they did not asked me to be a one. They expected only one thing from me. To become a good person. I have only one dream for the future. To give everything my parents deserve. 💕

Sort:  

A beautiful family. Your mom is really young. I loved meeting your family.
A hug from Venezuela.

Thank you darling ❤️
Yeah she is young and I could not even imagine how she managed all these things 😊😊
Love from Sri Lanka 😍

So lovely Sandu 😍

To give everything my parents deserve. 💕

I know , you can do it... ❤️

Thank you for visiting @sandupi 😍
I too hope that I can make it true sooner 😍

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

I read a lot of love and admiration in this publication.

I love photographs. I love that you say that your father is still very handsome (you love him!) I love that you smile at your mother's side (you are proud to be her daughter).

She can cook delicious foods. My university friends wait for her foods when I am going back to university from home. She cannot stay a single minute without doing something.

It's amazing that trait in mothers. They are tireless!

I have enjoyed reading your post. This has been a very moving contest. Best regards @sandu!

Thank you very much for visiting.
It was a pleasure to hear that you love this. 😍
I am very proud to be their daughter and to receive their love and affection. 🥰🥰

have a nice day.
love from Sri Lanka. 😊

they are going to be parents for two Engineers in the near future

Their hardwork deserves it💜️

She is a cry baby and so I am

Same here😂😂

Felt those words sister❤️

Thank you for the visit ❤️ Yeah they deserve them😍

The way you have access to this writing is so beautiful. I kept reading without stopping. ❤😍

Your handsome father is a hero for this world. it's because of people like your father that we live freely in this country

I wish your parents a healthy life!!

I like your posts too. ❤️ Your writings are also beautiful.

Yeah we should salute our heroes from three-forces and other contributors. 😍 they did a massive work to bring peace to our country ❤️

Thank you for visiting.

Hi,

Your post has been voted on by the Ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy,
joining our Discord server, and delegating to the project by using one of the following links:
500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP | 4000SP | 5000SP | 10000SP | 100000SP

You have such a beautiful family! It's really amazing the way you have shared your emotions and love. You should be a lucky daughter to be around with them.

Thank you again for your entry! And wish good health and happiness for your parents and for you to achieve all your dreams for them!

Yeah I’m very lucky to have them around 😍 I’m here because of them 😊

Thank you for your wishes, they mean a lot ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87