Architect of the Bird World.

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

20201124_122909.jpg

Have you seen bird nests? As children, we used to secretly search for the bird nest when we had clues of a newly building bird nest. What are those clues?

◾Two birds wondering in the same area.
◾Small fibres on their beaks.
◾Come and go time to time.

When we saw these signs, we knew that there must be a nest around. We searched for signs without interrupting them. Those nests look same. And this?

20201124_122658.jpg

Nest Hanging on a Branch

This is also a bird nest that belongs to Baya Weaver birds or Wadu kurulla in Sinhala. Wadu means carpenter in Sinhala. Using the meaning of designing, this birds are called architects in the bird world. These birds put a huge effort to make their homes. Baya weaver is a small bird with yellow colour head and brownish feathers.

image.png

The Baya Weaver

Not like other birds, male bird makes the nest when it comes to the baya weavers.

My father bought this bird nest for me. It had been fallen on the floor.

20201124_122413.jpg

Two Paths

When there are weavers around, there are number of nests on the same tree. They are hanging on the branches of the trees.

image.png

Nests hanging on a Tree

The nest I have is not the normal complete shape of the Baya weavers’ nest. It should have a lower part like this to complete the structure.

image.png

A Complete Nest

See the close ups. Can you imagine the effort they need to weave this up to this level? I always get impressed by these bird nests.

20201124_122932.jpg

Closer Look

The entrance to the bird nest is from the bottom. There are some clay parts attached to the walls.

20201124_122416.jpg

Clay Attached to the Wall

When this is fully built, the one path is covered, and they put eggs on that. The covered path is built as a normal bird nest inside the larger nest. Open path is used to go inside the nest.

This structure provides an extra protection to birds and the eggs. How creative they are.

I was in a thought of born as a bird in my next life. As a child. I still feel it sometimes. If so, I want to be a Baya Weaver. 😍

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Thank you for this very interesting post, dear @sandu.
It's really fascinating for me since we don't have those Baya Weavers in Northern Europe.
This is something that makes Steem, along with many good bloggers: If you get involved and leave your own little bubble behind, you can learn a lot about the big wide world!
Warm regards,
Chriddi

I should thankful to my father for bringing me that nest. I wrote this because I got it.

You are someone who always encourage me to do good things here. I’m very much thankful for your words.

Have a nice day. Stay safe. Love from Sri Lanka. ❤️

My Twitter link is here😍
image.png

Very interesting article. In my child hood I loved these nests alot. I remember I bothered my father by requestig a this kind of nest from his estate.

Yeah I still bring fallen nests home. 😍😍 but my cousin's son and daughter don't let me to keep them long 😒😒

male bird makes the nest when it comes to the baya weavers

Yeah, that's why these are so beautiful. 😃😃 Just kidding.

Earlier there were Baya weavers’ nests everywhere in my area. Especially near the paddy fields. But now we can hardly see them.

Just went to the past. I carried them to school in those days!

This is a great article. Keep it up

Yeah, that's why these are so beautiful.

okay 😅😅😅😅😅😅

Earlier there were Baya weavers’ nests everywhere in my area. Especially near the paddy fields. But now we can hardly see them.

bad effects of urbanization😒😒 everything changes rapidly and beautiful things that belong to the past, disappear 😶😶

thank you for the comments.
have a nice day😍

The covered path is built as a normal bird nest inside the larger nest. Open path is used to go inside the nest.

How crafty they are.. I mean even judging the diameter of the path. And the weaving. That's amazing

Yeah that is why there are called architects in the bird world. 😊😊 very cleaver and talented 😍

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka community curator.


Join With Our New Concept Contest Series... Try it! It's a puzzel Steem Sri Lanka - Contest Series | Round 02 | Week 01| Two In One Challange

Amazing things in the animals world... Have you seen the nest of Vahi Lihiniya... ? That is also awesome 😃 they bring small clay pieces from their beak... what a patience they have 🤗🤗
Nice article Sandu💪🔥

Have you seen the nest of Vahi Lihiniya... ?

I have seen it once. It was inside a newly constructed home of one of our relatives. I remembered it when I was writing this. Really ❤️ It is another wonderful creation of nature.

Thank you for your comments. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13