Talk About Your Hobby | Steem Sri Lanka 3G Contest Series| Week 05 | 5% for SL Charity

in Steem Sri Lanka3 years ago

Hobbies are something that makes our life flow easy, something that helps us to escape from the reality for a while, something that makes that little sparks inside. This is how I see what a hobby is. For me a hobby is very very important as everything else.

I have several hobbies and some of them are found very recently, some of them are found when I am growing up. Here I will share about the very first hobby which I love the most.

Reading 💖



IMG_20210328_225601.jpg
few books I have at home

As for my memory goes back, I loved reading even before I could read. This feeling has built inside me because what my mom has done and how my dad has inspired me. I was a hard to handle type of baby, so my mom used to tell stories to me when she does daily chores or when she feeds me. And my dad used to bring books with lots of pictures and big letters. This is where it begun. I am really greatfull for them 💞. That they gave me something really valuable for my life. I had a collection of books as a child, and I have kept them for so long and donated.

IMG_20210328_225415.jpg
Sinhala translation of "The childhood" by Maxim Gorky

Until grade 6, I only read short stories.. then I got a book as a gift when I passed the scholarship exam. This was a new beginning for me. The book was “Masterman Ready”. An interesting adventurous story about a family and a sailor who escaped to an island when there ship was wrecking by a storm. From that day I have read hundreds 🤔 no it may have passed thousand. I just lost the count. Anyway I have read books from many writers who are Russian, American, Japanese, Indian, Sri Lankan and many more. Mostly the translations.

IMG_20210328_225838.jpg
A love stroy based on a Japanese girl and a Sri Lankan man by Ediriweera Sarachchandra

When I start reading I won’t stop it until I finish reading the book. It is curiosity, love and interest keep me ongoing. Even if I don’t have time to read everyday, I use my leisure time whenever possible. Most of the time I get those books from the library. I had my own library card in public library since I was 13 and we had library cards at school library also.After my A/L examination I used to go to the library once a week with my dad and bring 6 books at once. Everyweek 😁.

IMG_20210328_225510.jpg
Few books I read recently

Have you ever felt that entering into a new world, the world of the story while reading. It happens to me all the time. In my mind I can build every scenario like a film and this make me live inside the book. I’ll tell one of that experience. While I read the book “Narniya”, I felt the coldness that they felt when entering to the new world. I felt the snow and walking through that land. This is why I say hobbies can make little sparkles inside. It is like you live here but you don’t live here.

IMG_20210328_231119.jpg
A story based on bulding of the Sri Lankan railway by British Colonial period

This hobby of reading helped me to improve my knowledge so much. It is not only about the story, you will learn so many things about the countries and so many things about people. Why I love reading the most is, it helps me to relax and escape from the stressful life. It helps me to walk to anywhere I want.

A hobby is a part of life that plays a major role 🥰. If you don’t have a hobby yet, try different things… you will find what you love then.

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

Steem Sri Lanka Discord Channel

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

Malagiya aththo!! One of the best!! 🥰🥰

I recently read the Yakada Silpara book also. Nice hobby to have

One of the best!! 🥰🥰

there are so many things to think about it even after reading.

Nice hobby to have

the best. for me

I have kept them for so long and donated.

That's a really good thing..

I'm not a fan of reading but you kinda made me regret about it..

Thank you so much for your participation. This is entry No.09

I'm not a fan of reading but you kinda made me regret about it..

you should try it sometime. with your whole heart. And most importantly don't judge it before reading.

Malagiya aththo was a masterpiece. I haven't read a lot but Professor Sarachchandra is the maestro of expressing "love" at its most realistic way. I was at adolescent when I read the book and kind of in a shock and anger at the way how the story ended.🥺 I saw very much myself in Devondara san, still wonder why 😂

Malagiya aththo was a masterpiece

Yeah. still I also couldn't get somethings. I even read 2 or 3 times and it won't get boring even if I read it 100 times.

Reading is soo good I really miss it ...
I'm soo away from it because of electronics
I used to read pdf books but It doesn't gives the feeling of reading a real book...

I used to read pdf books but It doesn't gives the feeling of reading a real book...

Yeah. I have tried. but doesn't feel like turning page by page.

Sherlock Holmes 😐❤️

love it 🖤.

You have been upvoted by @randulakoralage, a Country Representative from Sri Lanka. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25