#needleworkmonday :: Repurposing old t-shirts into a floor rug

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago


Old tshirts, we have aplenty. There are nice ones that still hold memories and there are those not so nice ones (the ones that are usually free and made of cheap cotton that you don't like wearing) that you wouldn't mind turning them into something else useful.

Inspired by some of the many projects by creative needle artists here on the #NeedleWorkMonday community, I thought to give tshirt yarn a try, that is making it myself and crochet a floor rug with a tshirt that has grown old and not one of those I like wearing. Nicer t-shirts will be turned into something nicer :)

2.jpg

First, I searched online to find a video on how to make tshirt yarns. I have a rough idea but I just wanted to be sure. This video was pretty good because it teaches how to turn almost the whole t-shirt including the neckline and sleeves to a t-shirt yarn.

Most other videos would just show how to make a t-shirt yarn just by the torso piece of the t-shirt and ignoring the sleeves and neckline.

Next, I have my t-shirt candidate laid flat and I measured to about half an inch for each strip:
3.jpg

And I snipped, snipped away:
4.jpg

Here, a good pair of sharp scissors really makes a difference and loads of patience as you cut through the strips. You will either enjoy cutting the t-shirt or you will give up entirely. Mine was halfway through giving up because the scissors didn't want to cut through but I kept at it. By the end of it, my hand pretty much hurts :P

Oh and another thing.. it can get a little messy as you snip away too. There will be lots of "crumbs" from the t-shirt that will be on your table or floor, depending where you work your project. And the crumbs will keep appearing from the moment you snip, all the way until you crochet and probably after too until it "stabilizes".

Next, quite a fun part of rolling the yarn into a ball with your fingers. You just round and round and round and round and round your fingers and wrap until your fingers suffocate! But the video showed a better way of rolling the yarn into a ball without hurting your fingers :)

5.jpg

Afterwards, it was time to start the actual work of creation!
6.jpg

I wanted an oval floor rug and I followed a basic pattern of crocheting an oval such as this pattern:
https://forthefrills.com/crochet-oval-elbow-patch-tutorial/
I crocheted to the length that I wanted and started through the pattern all around the chain stitches.

I am still not done yet. I have 2 more t-shirts to repurpose to become a ball of yarn and here is the rug currently with yarn from 1 t-shirt:
7.jpg

I will keep going until I reach the size that I want but before that, I need to get a good pair of sharp scissors! :)


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

Here's wishing everyone a good week ahead and Happy #NeedleWorkMonday!


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~

Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!
Take a look at the FAQ to learn more!
Helping to host are @muscara, @shanibeer and me.
If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png

Remember to subscribe to the NeedleWorkMonday community!

Read here to learn how!


This is also an Invitation to join #ccc (hive-166850) for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort:  

Looking forward to seeing the finished rug! Crocheting with such a thick yarn made my wrists hurt after some time, it was worse than cutting the t-shirt ;) For that I used a roller cutter and my cutting mat.

Have a !BEER

Sharp scissors make such a difference! As children, we were always getting told off by my mum for using her dressmaking shears for cutting paper and card. I didn't understand the problem until I grew up!
It's good to find a use for those discarded items, I guess you could dye them as well?

I always admire these t-shirt yarn rugs. I love the suprising color changes which always look good on the rugs. But....
I got hand and finger pain while reading your post 😱😱 I guess I am too soft to be a true crafter. But I am looking forward to you fighting working the shirt yarn 😍

Yep, I have a half (not even half actually) made rug. My hands don't like it either sister. It gives me a great appreciation for the effort involved.

Hehe yes, my hands and fingers were in pain and I have paused this project for a bit. But I really like that we can repurpose old t-shirts for this kind of work. The world of needlecraft is totally endless! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88