You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Engagement Challenge-S14W2 | Old Fashion vs New Fashion

I'll let you in on a secret: the greatest achievement of fashion designers is to create the illusion that they are constantly creating something new. In reality, everything, absolutely everything, has been there before! It's recombined and called something else and bang - new fashion.

A demand is created where there should actually be no demand. When such dictates come to an end and everyone simply wears what they like, what makes them feel good and self-confident, then we really will have learnt something.

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

You are very right on this one.. because I remember one of my dad’s old pix were a particular trouser he wore in the 70’s became the reigning trouser for ladies in this our current generation..

That's what I mean! And you can put a pocket here or a latch there, you can keep the button round or oval, choose between zip and Velcro fasteners... Yes, there are many possibilities. You can be original, tasteful and stylish. Just not: new ;-))

 9 months ago 

You seem to know a lot about fashion… do you sew as well??

Ah, you'll laugh... I used to sew myself. Less for fun, more because I didn't fit into the usual clothing sizes (too tall and too thin, but broad shoulders...) and because I prefer organic fabrics to synthetics. So it was a means to an end. And my style is simple and straightforward anyway.

Nowadays, there's everything I need. The most I'll do is have it customised...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46