A knock around fixed blade

in Inner Blocks3 years ago

Yesterday I made a post about a knife that I had cleaned up, and I was turned onto this community from my mate @galenkp! He mentioned this was a bonza community. He knows I like to get pissed on knives. Did I use that slang right? Haha

Anyway, I love make, creating, and working on knives. I have also recently been working on restoring axes.

Much like the knife I posted about yesterday, I found this knife at an abandoned house in Northern Michigan. I found a small bucket with several knives inside, all in weathered and fairly damaged condition.

This is a small no name knife that has a this narrow blade and a stacked leather handle. The finish on the handle was dried and cracked, and the metal was dirty and covered in years of misuse. Let's start with the finished images first, it might make for a nicer thumbnail!

As you can see it is just a small and handy knife. Just about 8 inches long. The sheath is a worn leather that was missing a clasp. I am using a cleverly placed elastic hair tie, which works unbelievably well.

The before pictures though. You can see the wear on it.

You can really see the damage on the handle. It is almost like a plastic coating that was peeling off. I sanded that all off and added a bit of oil.

I have carried this knife for alot of farm work. There is something very simple about it, and it carries great. I would use it for basic farm chores. A bitnof a knock around knife.

That is all for today. I hope you are all carrying something awesome!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Inner Blocks Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

Twitter: @simple_yeti

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39