My Sunday walk in the former royal estates of Tatoi greece. Photography of old abandoned buildings.

in LifeStyle3 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit and lifestyle community. Today I will share with you some photos from my Sunday walk in the former royal palaces of Tatoi in Greece. I went there for a Sunday walk, to escape a bit from the wild rhythms of the city, to breathe fresh air, to calm my soul from the huge green areas of the Tatoi estate, and to admire the old abandoned buildings that were in the area.

Arriving there, even though I went through a quarantine period, there were over five hundred cars parked on the road outside the estate. The huge area of the estate allows avoiding overcrowding and although police officers were there, they did not bother anyone. There were cyclists, runners, families with their children, and groups of young people who had come to this place for the same reason as me, to clear their minds a little of the paranoia we have been living in the last year.

tatoi33.JPG

During my visit to the royal palaces, I had the opportunity to admire and explore some of the abandoned buildings that stood there proudly for more than a hundred years. The old buildings have always been of great interest to me, So by observing them this day, I felt a strange sensation, and immediately I took my camera and started taking pictures of them.

tatoi1.JPG

tatoi2.JPG

The first building that was easy accessible, to get inside and explore it, is the one in the photo below. As you can see, the ground floor is made of stone and the second floor is made of bricks, a sign that it was only one floor and later it was enlarged using another material that despite the noticeable difference it really looks very beautiful.

tatoi3.JPG

tatoi4.JPG

Entering inside we clearly see the signs of obsession. The walls have frayed, the floors from the second floor have fallen, and on the ground floor the black wooden beams on the floor, testify the presence of a fire in the past
tatoi6.JPG

tatoi5.JPG

My enthusiasm for exploring and photographing this old building made me to act a little risky and I climbed this dilapidated staircase to see the second floor. As I was climbing, the stairs shook a little but I finally made it and went up to the second floor.

tatoi7.JPG
In the end, it was worth the risk because I captured the following photo that I really like. The broken wooden roof with the red color around, in combination with the blue doors that only the frame is left, compose a very beautiful geometric picture with very blurred color shades that indicate wear and how relentless the time is.
tatoi8.JPG

The next building that impressed me and I went in and photographed it, is the following. It is very large and I guess it was the first building built in Tatoi as a family holiday home of the royal family in 1874. Later the royal family settled permanently in this building until 1884 when they built a new larger palace in the area because the royal family had grown up and could no longer fit in the building below.
tatoi9.JPG

tatoi11.JPG

Due to the size of the building and the dense vegetation around it, I could not capture the whole building in a photo. But I still liked the photos have captured. I really liked the native plants that had grown on the walls of the building and the tall green trees around it.

tatoi10.JPG

As soon as I entered I realized how big it was. A huge corridor appeared in front of me with many rooms, most of which were bedrooms. There was also a kitchenette, a Turkish-style toilet and a room with a bathtub. Everything was messed up and abandoned but this image was fascinating me.

tatoi12.JPG
A turkish style toilet in a light blue frame and as background, the walls yellowed by time.
tatoi13.JPG
This photo with the window is one of my favourite photos that I captured that day. In my imagination the photograph signifies something blurry, something eerie
tatoi14.JPG
I assume a small kitchenette with tiles on the wall, what is left of course and a small sink that has strangely retained its white colour and a little shine.
tatoi15.JPG
an old metal bed without its mattress is surrounded by fallen rubble.tatoi16.JPG
An old chest of drawers without drawers!!!
tatoi17.JPG
an old bathtub that has been taken over by the wear and tear of time.
tatoi20.JPG
another old bed again without its mattress. Beneath it there are stacked tiles and next to it there is a rusty radiator, something that surprises me as I do not think they had oil heating 100 years ago. What a strange picture !!

tatoi21.JPG

The building in the photos below is the new royal palace. The royal family first lived there in 1889 and used to stay there from May to October. In 1948 the royal family settled permanently in the palace of Tatoi until June 1973 when the dictator George Papadopoulos abolished the kingdom and the estate of Tatoi now passed into the ownership of the Greek state.

tatoi26.JPG

tatoi27.JPG

The palace was huge in size and I had to walk long enough to photograph it from all the optical angles. Unfortunately I could not get inside because it was guarded by private security.

tatoi28.JPG

tatoi29.JPG

tatoi30.JPG

tatoi31.JPG

tatoi32.JPG

A statue depicting a small child on a pony holding a knife in his right hand. The statue is placed on a marble base and although it is exposed to the weather but he time has behaved well.

tatoi34.JPG

A staircase full of green mold, leads to an iron fence and behind it, is a dog house. This image creates mixed feelings in me. The image of a dog or whatever it has to do with it, always makes me smile. In this particular case which the dog house is behind an iron prison I get some negative emotions
tatoi35.JPG

Descending from these ornate stairs at the back of the palace, there is an outside bathtub and behind it is a strange symbol in the form of a lion.

tatoi38.JPG

tatoi37.JPG
The marble face of the lion over the years from white has become golden, except for its teeth which remain all white. He may had a good dentist. :D
tatoi39.JPG

Opposite the bath with the lion at 50 meters there is a large swimming pool. It is full of water, mold and fales leaves.

40.JPG

So that was for today. Tatoi area has dozens of abandoned buildings and I am aiming to visit again to capture more photographs of abandonment.
I am very thankful that through steemit I can get some of you with me. I hope you are enjoying my pictures, as I enjoy capturing them and then writing posts with my thoughts about them. Thanks for taking the time to read my post. SEE YA

tatoi41.JPG

Sort:  

Hi @skywaystelios, nice to see this photo series, althoug on another hand it is very sad to see how those places have been left alone. The buildings made of strong stones, that is why from outside they look not so bad. But it is a shame to see how much already destroyed inside.

By the way, @skywaystelios, I noticed that after posting once in "world of xpilar" you stopped doing that. @art-venture we are a part of "world of xpilar" community and would be happy to have you among our users.

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

More info: visit @steemitblog post

hello @art-venture. I am new here and I don't know how things work. Unfortunately I didn't post this post on xpilars community because I did not have much support at my previews post, so I tried the lifestyle community. I am just looking around to see what is better for me. Thanks for your advices I will try to post daily on xpilars community and I hope my post to have more visibility.
Best Regards Stelios

The house in the first photo would be perfect for an escape room. That would be just super! At https://erworkshop.com/price-list.html, buy a room kit like something horror style and come up with a creepy script. I would like to go through such a quest! =))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62