Rare crops and dominant crops in my country

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Good day all, my name is Malume from Nigeria . my country is a blessed country with vast land and good land for plant growth ( Agriculture ). So we grow a lot of crops in my country but not all tho. After if we had all why we never be world power(😂😂😂🤣🤣).

The Rare Crop

I would love to go from the rare to the popular and common ones . like I said not all crops are grown here and even in the eastern region where I live that has very good soil ,you cant grow this crop. The crop I am talking about is APPLE

64FF219E-B1B2-4EF1-9132-C1EA8A462453.jpeg

Apple is a very sweet fruit crop that has a very bright color mostly either color green or bright red color. It is produced from apple tree known as Malus domestica. There are many varieties of apple and they include :
• Red delicious
• Crispin
• Gala
• Granny smith
• Fuji
• Honey crisp
• Mclntosh Source

Apple is actually one of the most nutritional fruits out there. It contains fibers and fibers are substances which when taken aid digestion in the gastrointestinal tract. Apple also plays a role in protectint the body from diseases and protcting different organs in the body like the blood vessels and hearts from damage and apples contains a unique substance known as antioxidant that help to protect oxidation of DNA there by helping to reduce cancer spread in the body.
Away from the health benefits of apple if we keep going we would probably sleep and wale up in this post cause they are ma ny. I know you guys are curious why this fruit crop cant be grown in my country. Apple tree is a tree that requires cold conditions for maximum growth and production of its fruit. This kind of cold conditions cant be found in Nigeria although in recent times nigerians have tried to grow this only the northern state of Jos have succeded the east where I stay arebut it is still a rare crop in this country.
As much as this crop is rare in Nigeria it is still one of the most sought out crops in this country with its importation rate high due to the high demand of the fruit crop due to its medical importance cause like they say an apple a day keeps one away from the doctor office .

The Dominant Crop

Now over to the dominant crop. Honestly the crop I am talking about excluding its mass production rate in my country it is also well respected in my country to the extent it has its own festival here. I know Nigerians have probably guessed it but for others, the crop I am talking about is yam known as Ji in my native language of Igbo.

AE90DF8E-D1C5-45A1-B3B5-1DD41AC107D1.jpeg

128A58BD-1BD4-47EF-8A2D-A72ED6276F8E.jpeg

Yam as seen above is a crop with a tough brownish outer cover and is regarded as a tuber .it is under the diosscoreceae family of plants. The crop is not grown all year round cause it requires seasons but it is always available all year though cause of its ability to last long with good storage. The planting time and harvesting time of the crop has a 6 months gap with early planting starting November and December and harvested around July and august of the next year. There can be late planting too which can occur around march and April and hjarvetsed 6 months after too.
Like I mentioned above, yam is a crop that is celebrated in my part of the country the east with a festival kknown as the new yam festival.

This festival occurs around the harvesting time cause it is new yam that is used for the event. I have attended one of the festival in my home town and it was a lovely event tho. The festival is a sign of respect to yam cause its point of harvest is regarded as the end of cultivating season and beginning of another like a cycle.
Nigerians also consume yam in different forms like yam and oil, yam porridge , yam and vegetable and many others. The demand for yam is always there int the country especially during its harvest time cause a lot of people want the freshly newly harvested yam cause its more nutruitious and sweeeter.

I thank you
for this contest and invite @dayographix @swaylee for the contest
steem geography community
Cc:
@belenguerra
@bright-obias
@badsha1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86