How I Spent My Birthday This Year, 2020

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)



Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

The Birthday Boy


Today, I'm just feeling all the appreciation and gratefulness from my fellow friends as I hit 29 years of age. My birthday was yesterday, 3rd January but because today is Saturday, a few of my friends have decided to organize a lunch party for me.

Being an early January baby is always the birthday month where a lot of birthdays are not usually celebrated. Growing up, a lot of my birthdays are just probably simple ones from my family and moving out of my hometown for 11 years, my birthday is often not celebrated. Not because I don't have friends (okay that sounded a bit sad), but because my birthday falls on the 3rd of January where the school starts and after the New Year, a lot of people are just trying to get back into their daily life routine. From their hangovers, new job, or starting out their new year resolution.

In Malaysia, we also celebrate Chinese New Year either end of January, or early February depending on the Chinese Calendar, so a lot of people are already focusing on decorating and preparing their houses for the coming Chinese New Year. Hence, what's a January baby got to do to have his birthday celebrated? Nothing really, I actually am used to not having my birthday celebrated but this year was different. My friends have gone out of their way and time to make this happen for a fellow January baby. :)


It Started Out Like This



On the 3rd of January when the clock strikes 12, Yuna slipped a letter under my door. It was pretty funny how it happened because I could see her attempt to slide the letter under my door but the uneven tiles were blocking the letter from properly sliding through. I was still awake at that time and I sat there just staring at the door and her attempts and have decided to let her finish whatever sneaky stuff she was doing.

When she was FINALLY done, I went over to pick the letter up and opened it. Inside the letter was the details of my surprise birthday party.



Yea... it's already become a common thing for me to receive such lovely gestures.... (trying to act cool but does seemingly enjoy what's going on and is beaming from ear to ear :P)


The Birthday Lunch



I was excited for this birthday party and I can't thank everyone enough for the time and effort they've put in to make this lunch happen. My friends even got me birthday presents. You have to understand that I've not celebrated my birthday for years and this is the first time someone actually does something for me. I remember last year, my friends and I who were also January babies decided to take matters into our own hands and celebrated our birthdays at a rooftop skybar.

This year was different, I'm touched

I rolled up to the location of the party and the lunch started. The place was very spacious and the cafe had two floors. The cafe is a refurnished warehouse lot so you can imagine how huge the place was. I always loved spacious cafes.





The Food That Came Along



Roti Bro - french bread, hot spiced minced chicken in egg, lettuce, tomato, cheddar cheese, chipotle mayo and chips


Big breakfast


Teriyaki Salmon


Chicken Bolognese



Fried Pasta


Good Company


I guess the most important part of this whole event and where my heart lies is in the friendship of my friends who showed up today. I'm really grateful for their time and just coming to see me. It's not every day that you become the star of the day and honestly, it felt good. A shoutout to Yuna, Kirby, Carissa, and Jon for organizing this party for me. Little did I know that I actually needed a day like this to help me feel better. I needed this.


The owner says this picture of her is prettier. - Yuna XD


Kirby and I


Fisher and I


Kimying, Sau Meng and I


Mark and I


Carissa and I


Jon and I


Ending the Day



 


Gifts from them

I require no fancy gifts or anything but just their presence on this day. It means a lot to me. Their presence are already a gift to me. I always love my friends and I always do try to go out of my way for them but today, I'm just happy that I just get to relax and enjoy the ride. Love them to bits.

Have a great weekend!

 

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2020/01/05/how-i-spent-my-birthday-this-year-2020/

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Happy Birthday! I'm glad you got what you needed. And that you have such lovely and loving friends. That's what we all need.

Happy birthday to you

 4 years ago 

Thank you!

This made my heart so happy! After everything you do for people, both on this platform and in person, it's so awesome to see your birthday celebrated in such an awesomesauce way! Belated happy birthday to you, @zord189 and may all your birthday wishes come true!

@tipu curate

 4 years ago 

Thank you for the tipu curate and the well wishes! I wish you well too @traciyork! :)

Oh, and almost forgot!

zord happy birthday.gif

 4 years ago 

Hahah, the power rangers cracked me up! :D

Happy birthday, may the new year bring you many blessings. I'm glad you enjoyed the company of your friends.

 4 years ago 

Thank you @antoniarhuiz

Congratulations @zord189! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

 4 years ago 

Thank you luv

 4 years ago 

Happy belated birthday @zord189, December and January babies always appear to miss out on celebrating birthdays, with Christmas followed by a new school year, organizing finance after big spend.....

Good to have friends who made the effort to take you out for a fantastic lunch together, memories are made of this, have a wonderful new year ahead.

 4 years ago 

That's true and I'm so blessed for having such wonderful friends. They went out of their way to throw this party for me. I'm grateful! Thank you!

What wonderful friends you have, to do this for you. Hmm, now I'm hungry for some reason! Happy Birthday my friend!

 4 years ago 

Haha thank you @free-reign. I'm so blessed to have such wonderful friends

Oh such sweet gesture for your birthday. I was scrolling down the food as I was curious if you did indeed wear something handsome as the note requested. Well you pulled it off my friend!

 4 years ago 

Hahah, you're too kind with ur words but thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25