Photo 52 - 2020 Photo Challenge - New and Bright - PowerHouseCreatives Contest

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

As you may have gathered this is an entry for two contests -

  • Photo52 Challenge We are on week 2 with a theme of NEW This is open for anyone to join in and you can join in on all 52 sessions or any one session that catches your interest! I have accepted the challenge and I'm going to do my best to do all 52 sessions. My entry for week 1 can be found here

  • @zord189 creates weekly contests for the members of #powerhousecreatives and this week the contest has a prompt of I spy with my little eye something..... Bright

The Sun Bringing in a Bright New Day

bright sun just over darkened treetops rays on snowy field.JPG

The rising sun is always a welcome sight on these cold winter days! Each day it brings it's promise of renewed energy with it's rays to brighten our day!

Even if it is cold outside the bright sunshine will uplift me and create some warmth if even just internally!

I love to catch some "rays" and even if it's -20 Celsius I'll get outside to soak up some sunrays! Oh, but I long for the days when you can start to feel the warmth of the sun once more as it begins to rise higher in the sky. I know on the Solstice the days begin getting longer but here, it isn't until February that you really begin to notice the light returning. I really noticed it when the coleus plants would start to get the color back in their leaves and the fig tree I was growing indoors would start to set figs (this was before I got my grow lights.)

Sometimes you don't realize how much we depend on that sunlight and people are affected by what has been termed "Seasonal Affected Disorder" find out more about S.A.D. syndrome here. I know before I set up my indoor garden with special grow lights, by January I would start to feel a little down when the cold weather has been keeping us indoors and the sun hasn't been rising above the treetops. I miss the sun! Many of my friends were really affected last year with a very long, cold winter and I was ever so grateful to have my indoor garden and the bright grow lights! I recommended to my friends to get a grow light and do some indoor gardening to keep the blues away! Not only do you get relief from the S.A.D. syndrome but you get fresh home grown food too!

Indoor Garden Project

Gardening for food security Indoor garden with greens table greens on lightstand.JPG

See a whole series about the indoor garden project I did last winter at:

Part 1 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning

Part 2 - https://steemit.com/gardening/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-new-project-beginning-part-2

Part 3 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-3-the-experiment-worked

Part 4 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/video-tour-gardening-for-food-security-indoor-gardening-project-part-4

Part 5 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/why-i-brought-my-gardening-indoors-indoor-gardening-project-part-5

Part 6 - https://steemit.com/dsnapx/@porters/gye4b7sv

Part 7 - https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/gardening-for-food-security-indoor-garden-project-part-7-a-walk-thru-and-making-cuttings

Part 8 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/k4yhd5b7

Part 9 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@porters/5x0x3oz7

See my Indoor Garden for the Winter of 2020 at https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@porters/garden-journal-november-update-gardening-indoors

I'll be posting my January update on my indoor garden pretty soon so watch for it!

One last shot of that rising sun...

Sun Bringing It's Glorious Light

beautiful colors in sky and snow field sun touching the horizon.JPG

Wishing you all much light, love and happiness in the new year!

Sun photo was taken with my Kyocera phone and indoor garden photo was with my Canon PowerShot A495

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Really, really nice. I love sunrise and sunset photos too; they're often my favourites. Thank you for entering!

Beautiful sunrise photo. I’m glad you found a way to beat the winter blues.

 4 years ago 

Never thought of the long extended days and seeking out the warmth of the sun, lovely photography on ice with sun and the indoor garden to cheer you up.

!tip

🎁 Hi @porters! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @joanstewart!

@joanstewart wrote lately about: Walk In Amazing Nature One Always Receives More Than We Seek Feel free to follow @joanstewart if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

A perfect capture of the sun.. Just wonderful !!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

wonderful sunrize!

Haha, I would get a very bad case of S.A.D. in the winter during the time I had to live up north! In a warm climate I never get the blues, no matter the time of year.

Leaving the frigid north for good has made an incredibly positive difference in my life!

Good luck in both contests!

I love the north country, if only the winters were not so long and cold!
Having my indoor garden has made a world of difference for me, so I never think of leaving my home here!
Glad your move made for some positive differences in your life!

There's nothing like a beautiful sunrise to perk me up my friend.
A glorious photo here.
Good luck in the contest.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76