Thoughts of the Uncertainty of Life on Sublime Sunday

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

photo14849737686697fb6b5451095.jpeg

Image by Ben White from Unsplash

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

"There is a saying in Tibetan.
'Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.'
No matter what source of difficulties, how painful experience is,
if we lose our hope, that's our real disaster."
The Dalai Lama

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Sunday morning. I woke, not in the best of moods, but trying to think positive for today. I was waiting for additional news about the tragedy that struck on Friday in the Northwest area of Houston, TX. A manufacturing plant exploded, claiming the lives of two people. Over 200 nearby homes were damaged. Fifty of the homes were blown off their foundations and completely destroyed. A devastating day for the families affected. We have friends and family who live in the area. They reported being safe.
20200126_131926.jpg

Source 1

Then, a few hours later this morning, news across the wire that Kobe Bryant, the basketball legend and his oldest daughter, lost their lives, together with 7 other individuals in a helicopter crash.

Last Friday, I can imagine this scene. The 2 employees who worked at the manufacturing plant told their families goodbye on their way out the door for work. Was this going to be the last day they would get to say that to their families? They didn't know.

Early this morning, did Mr. Bryant's family know that it would be last time saying goodbye to them before he and his daughter left? They didn't know.

I also saw the news reports of an earthquake in Turkey.

No one knows the day or the hour tragedy that is life ending will strike. No matter who you are; your status; or material possessions you may have accumulated in this earthly life, tragedy can visit you. It doesn't discriminate as to where it will strike next.

I offer my deepest sympathy to the families of the tragedies these past several days. Seems like there are far too many in recent years.

Image by geralt of Pixabay

When my family arrived for a visit this afternoon, I wasn't in the mood to entertain. As my grandchild prepared to leave, I told her I loved her, and I'd see her next week. She said impatiently, "I know Nana, you already told me." I responded that I just wanted to tell her again.

You don't know.

beltline.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.


SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's personalized PHC signature created by and purchased from @zord189.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.
Source1 Image from personal subscription copy of Houston Chronicle front page, Saturday, 1/25/20

lineseparator.png

justclickindivaminnowimage.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png


SteemTerminalBanner.jpg



Sort:  

So in line with my thoughts about creating the #thoughtfuldailypost movement. Every day is a precious gift, and your words hopefully remind us of this. Thank you for sharing this with us and for using my tag.

!tip

You're welcome @wesphilbin. It's especially sobering and humbling to know we have no control. We just need to try to live as best we can each day treating each other as we wish to be treated.

 4 years ago 

There have already been so many tragedies this year. I'm sure that for someone, somewhere a tragedy or three strikes every single day. It's horrifying when you think about it and yet, we must enjoy each day for the gift that it actually is and cherish those around us, or that we love.

You have to live in the present while still aware that we are not the keepers of time. I always like to leave my house with a good feeling left behind. Thanks for the words and the thoughts behind them.

Have a great day!

!tip

Yes, @dswigle. Every single day a tragedy strikes. We just don't know about it. And others feel the same way we do for their friends and loved ones. Have a great Sunday, hopefully a sublime Sunday of rest and relaxation. Take care.

I try not to let tragedy consume my thoughts about living each day to the fullest. Sometimes they make me feel like retreating back into my bed for another sleep. But I can't.. I face them and reassure myself that I am blessed for what time and love I have been given. These events remind me to try and be positive with my thoughts and what I put out into the world. They remind me to give back and pay forward. I just may be in the right place at the right time. You never do know :-)

hi @bdmillergallery. Living each day to the fullest extent possible is something to strive for. And positive thinking goes a long way. Your tendency towards this way of thinking to give back and pay it forward is a testament of your inner kindness. Thanks for stopping by and engaging with me. Take care

Each day a tragedy happens somewhere around the world. Someone dies or is faced with a terrible situation. We don't know about it because it does not happen in front of our eyes. When such things occur to those we know, then we become more aware that it could be happening to us as well. It's a good reminder that we should treasure more the present instead of planning the future.

Hi @lymepoet. You are correct. It does happen every day. Only the ones we hear about or experience personally is what we deal with. It doesn't truly affect you until it hits home in some way with you.

A terrible year so far with so many tragic and potentially tragic event. I guess every year brings some of this sourness, a hard reminder of how frágil life is.
I flew with my wife and one of my CV daughters 3 days ago and all the way I could not help thinking how every second could have been our last.
The trip we took, about which I hope to be posting later today (we are taking a bus now back home) was precisely to be with my youngest daughter at her birthday. We had not seen each other for some time and it is hard to live in the same country and be separated by pressing circumstances. distance can take a toll on love.

Yes, you are correct because we don't know. What I do know is that we have no control over this aspect of our lives. We can only live one day at a time in the present. Yes, we can plan for the future, but it's not guaranteed to any of us.

I recently re-connected with my distant family during last Thanksgiving. I just had a feeling that I should after purchasing an item for my wall that spoke of family. It was ridiculous to let petty differences stand between family members. Then the last time you see each other is at either you or their funeral service. I'm glad I reached out and extended a warm welcome to join me during the holidays. Now I know they are OK too and taking care of themselves.

It's so sad what's happening in your country. Tearing families apart is unnatural. I hope the situation improves in the near future. I remember you saying what was happening to families that you couldn't get together often enough.

Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate you stopping by. Have a great day.

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Just love new badges. THanks for the notification.

So live everyday like it is your last right...
Good reminder today and every day
Hope you are feeling better

Yes. Plan, but don't forget to live in the present. No day is guaranteed to us except the current one we're living today. It's hard sometimes to remember this when events and circumstances get in the way. Or we get too busy with being busy.

Congratulations @justclickindiva! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Wow, thank you so much for selecting my post and for the continued support of the PHC community. I appreciate it.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

A note of appreciation @theluvbug for bringing me some positive vibes. Thanks so much for the notification and support.

I didn't know Kobe that well as a personality, as I'm not a basketball fan at all, but when I read about his and his daughter's fate, it hit me hard. I have a daughter and all I could think about was how awful that accident was for them, the other people on board, and their families who now mourn their losses.

Some things we'll never understand, but life is both precious and fleeting.

hi @free-reign. I'm a huge football fan. I like basketball as well. All the families are dealing with loss right now. They are not to be forgotten.

Oh my, I'm glad to hear that. It's still sad, but I thought this may have been about your family.

Hi @free-reign. The reason I was so sad was that the explosion near us in another city was close to my family and friends. So I was worried after hearing the news and calling to check on them.

Not involved and incurred no loss to my family where the helicopter crash is concerned. And the earthquake on the news. Only mentioned because of the 3 events occurring within a few days of each other.

Have a great Monday and start to a new week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80