Feudal Kingdoms - The Lore Of Toria [EN/DE]

in Writing & Reviews4 years ago

The world of Feudal Kingdoms has a long and portentous history. I want to give you a short insight of what happend to the humans of Toria. (Part 2/4)

randomchar2.jpg


English Version

Hello my dear friend! Long time no see. Come in, come in! Let me boil up some water. You surely want some tea?
Hm… the tea is not as good as the one I brought home from Provia, many years ago.
I travelled widely, you know.

I was not always an old rickety man like I am today. I was young once. And extremely busy. As a diplomat, I got to know the world. Back in the years of 950, not long after the war, I represented the interests of Queen Sieglinde of Ahcron in other countries.
As a diplomat, I was a respected man. In Ahcron and outside as well. I particularly enjoyed staying in Provia. The people there are smart, you won't believe that! For example, they have found a way to determine the geographic direction with the help of a needle in a round vessel. Without any stars. They call this thing "compass".
But they also have confused ideas. Some thought that instead of a single ruling king or queen, you should have several decision-makers who decide by majority. Something with "democ" at the beginning. But I'm digressing ... some more tea?

But being a diplomat also has its downsides! People with less noble intentions - also called spies - were lurking at every corner. You get this feeling at least.
Ok, to be honest, there were also diplomats with deceptive intentions. Those who misused their rhetoric skill for their own purposes. One of those swabs was "Groma ... something", at least I think that was his name. At the time, he almost led Karl Nedor I, King of Nedor, to kill his own son.
It turned out that Groma was, in fact, a spy and intriguer from Schwertkreuz. The nobility of Schwertkreuz naturally denied all connections.

I almost praise myself a henchman. One that you look into the face and know that your last hour has struck. I actually encountered one of these once! Yes! His face was wrapped deep in a hood, his eyes sparkled. An icy cold shiver runs down my back today when I think back on how I spotted him behind a tree.
Fortunately, I was only a few 100 meters away from the city gate of Anvalb. That was the last time I went for a walk in the evening.
However, I am a little surprised that I have never seen him again. After all, it is said that an assassin never misses his target, and if it takes years to hit. I was lucky I guess.

Oh, and what I wanted to ask you, since when have you actually had this curved dagger ...?


kingdoms.png

German Version

Hallo mein lieber Freund! Lange nicht gesehen. Komm rein, komm rein! Lass mich etwas Wasser aufkochen. Du willst sicher etwas Tee?
Hm ... der Tee ist nicht so gut wie der, den ich vor vielen Jahren aus Provia mitgebracht habe.
Ich bin weit gereist, weißt du?

Ich war nicht immer ein alter klappriger Mann wie heute. Ich war einmal jung. Und sehr beschäftigt. Als Diplomat habe ich die Welt kennengelernt. In den 950er Jahren, nicht lange nach dem Krieg, vertrat ich die Interessen von Königin Sieglinde von Ahcron in anderen Ländern.
Als Diplomat war ich ein angesehener Mann. In Ahcron und auch außerhalb. Ich habe es besonders genossen, in Provia zu bleiben. Die Leute dort sind schlau, das wirst du nicht glauben! Zum Beispiel haben sie einen Weg gefunden, die geografische Richtung mit Hilfe einer Nadel in einem runden Gefäß zu bestimmen. Ohne Sterne. Sie nennen dieses Ding "Kompass".

Sie haben aber auch wirre Ideen. Einige meinten, dass Sie anstelle eines einzigen regierenden Königs oder einer einzigen Königin mehrere Entscheidungsträger haben sollten, die per Mehrheit entscheiden. Etwas mit "Demokratie" am Anfang nannten sie es. Aber ich schweife ab ... noch etwas Tee?

Diplomat zu sein hat aber auch Nachteile! Menschen mit weniger edlen Absichten - auch Spione genannt - lauerten an jeder Ecke. Du hast zumindest dieses Gefühl.
Ok, um ehrlich zu sein, gab es auch Diplomaten mit trügerischen Absichten. Diejenigen, die ihre rhetorischen Fähigkeiten für ihre eigenen Zwecke missbraucht haben. Einer dieser Schwindler war "Groma ... etwas", zumindest glaube ich, dass das sein Name war. Zu dieser Zeit hätte er Karl Nedor I., den König von Nedor, fast dazu gebracht, seinen eigenen Sohn zu töten.
Es stellte sich heraus, dass Groma tatsächlich ein Spion und Intrigant aus Schwertkreuz war. Der Adel von Schwertkreuz bestritt natürlich alle Verbindungen.

Ich lobe mir fast einen Handlanger. Einen, die du ins Gesicht schaust und weißt, dass deine letzte Stunde geschlagen hat. Ich bin tatsächlich einmal auf einen gestoßen! Ja! Sein Gesicht war tief in eine Kapuze gehüllt, seine Augen funkelten. Ein eisiger kalter Schauer läuft mir heute über den Rücken, als ich daran denke, wie ich ihn hinter einem Baum entdeckt habe.
Zum Glück war ich nur wenige 100 Meter vom Stadttor von Anvalb entfernt. Das war das letzte Mal, dass ich abends spazieren ging.
Ich bin jedoch ein wenig überrascht, dass ich ihn nie wieder gesehen habe. Immerhin wird gesagt, dass ein Attentäter sein Ziel nie verfehlt und wenn es Jahre dauert, um es zu treffen. Ich hatte Glück, denke ich.

Oh, und was wollte ich dich fragen, seit wann hast du eigentlich diesen gebogenen Dolch ...?



In The Meantime Visit Us On Our Other Social Media Channels
Blood And Pixels Website
TWITTER | | | DISCORD
Feudal Kingdoms on Steam

Sort:  
Du hast ein kleines Upvote von unserem Curation – Support – Reblog Account (German Steem Bootcamp) erhalten. Dieser wurde per Hand erteilt und nicht von einem Bot. Mit freundlichen Grüßen @cultus-forex
Du findest uns im Discord unter https://discord.gg/Uee9wDB
 4 years ago 

Is that a drawing of your own?? If so, you're extremely talented!!
I tried reading it in German at first, to see how much I could remember from my lessons and I have to say I'm proud to have understood almost 75% of it! Lol
I really liked it, thank you for sharing!! :)

Hi, glad you liked it. The drawing is from a polish friend who worked with me on my last game project. He streams regulary on twitch:

 4 years ago 

This post has been selected as a top pick for this week! Congrats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82