My religion; a beacon of hope, a life jacket for a drowning soul

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Have you ever felt stuck, helpless and hapless when life hits you fast and hard? Do you ever feel your world is crumbling, leaving you questioning your existence? Well, I have been there.
Life could be unfair at times. It could leave one with no options at the negotiation table. You deal with whatever it throws at you.

IMG_20201209_215813_7.jpg
(source) @thequill

Well, life threw hard bricks at me. I had bumps, groan under pains but, one soothing balm that gave me succour and relief from the miseries and heartaches was my religion, Christianity.
I am a Christian. And my faith is the torchlight that illuminates my path when darkness hovers over me.
Being a Christian was like liberation to my soul. I found answers to the mysteries of life thanks to the bible and my saviour, Jesus Christ.
My path to becoming a Christian wasn’t smooth. It was a mine field that I couldn’t navigate alone. I needed someone, an invisible guardian to tread this treacherous path with as I seek to empty my burden and live once again.
I found a willing partner eventually. Where others dare to tread, he treaded. When others seem to back off or desert me, he showed up gallantly.

hands-1797401_1920.jpg
(source) (https://pixabay.com/photos/hands-child-s-hand-hold-tight-1797401/)

He was my lion king, the ‘’mufasa’’ that roared me back to life while silencing all the monsters that haunted me.
God gave me hope when I had lost it. He threw in the life jacket for me when the tides of life and its raging sea was about to swallow me.

SIMPLICITY IN COMMUNICATION
Religion embodies the totality of a man. However, our faith act as a conduit pipe or that invisible anchor that keeps us within God’s radar.
I rather dwell much on my faith and not religion.
For the discerning hearts, the deep thinkers, faith and religion are two different things entirely. Both looks inseparable but, a microscopic shot will clearly highlight the simmering differences.
Let me skip the religion-faith intellectual discourse-that’s a topic for another time-and talk up the important, effective and simplest approach to reaching out to God.
The Christian prayer life is one that affords a personal interaction and intercessions with the ‘man upstairs’. God values relationship with man. Remember back in the garden, the bible revealed he had one-on-one interaction with Adam. It simply shows that God values his personal relationship with us.

beach-1867017_1920.jpg
(source) (https://pixabay.com/photos/beach-idyllic-man-ocean-peaceful-1867017/)

And to keep the glow alive with him, our ability to reach him through prayers is irresistible. It is like picking up a phone to dial him. It is an open sesame to getting his attention and sharing your pains and heartaches with him.
More importantly, he’s multilingual. He hears my petition, my praise in English, French, German, Yoruba, Spanish just name it, he’s there for me.
Prayer opens the veil to heaven, connecting one to the father.
The mere fact that I can easily seek the father without any intermediary makes it worthwhile. It makes me feel like a kid again.
Having such access to God will definitely help in building one’s spiritual block of life.

The Bible; the book that answereth all

candle-holders-6015298_1920.jpg
(source) (https://pixabay.com/photos/candle-holders-bible-light-flame-6015298/)

The holy scripture is definitely the panacea to all your questions and scepticism. The Bible is complete. It is the universal encyclopaedia that has the answers to all our worries, concerns and queries.
I have turned to the scripture when I feel at loss or when my faith seems to wane.
It is the perfect recipe for life tasks and challenges.
The bible is priceless, it embodies what Christianity is all about.
I believe @belenguerra @writingnreviews and @fendit are impressed with my short journey into Christianity.

#steem #steemexclusive #nigeria

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94