CONTEST !! WHAT INSPIRED ME // THE STORY OF A rickshaw driver

in Writing & Reviews2 years ago

rickshaw-6666845_960_720.jpg
Source

This story may sound very ordinary… Yes, it's about an Trishaw Driver who happened to take me to a destination not far from my house. But in those 10-12 minutes, I watched and learned from this 63 year old man, how a person can grow and achieve his goals if his dreams are clear.

One day I was waiting for Trishaw to leave for work and there was no Trishaw ready to take me. Moments later I started walking when I saw this Trishaw and stopped it. When I asked if he could drive me to my destination, he quickly agreed. I gave him the exact location and that's when our conversation started, mostly one way conversation.

I start by saying in Indian
"ye rickshaw wale hamesha manna kyu karte hai" (why do rickshaw driver people always say no).
His immediate reaction is in English
"Sir, this is what I hate about fellow rickshaws",

these people don't value education and so they don't value time, nor do they want to help passengers. As he spoke, in english and hindi, in my mind I wondered how this old man who was just an Trishawdriver spoke fluently in English.
When I just thought about it, he started talking to me again and everything he said really motivated me.

“I graduated from one of the top state universities and completed my graduation in 1975. By profession, I was a teacher at a public school. school for many years. During those days, I struggled a lot because I came from a very poor family, but that didn't stop me from growing. I somehow managed to finish my studies to give my family a better life. Today I'm retiring and if I take Trishawit's not just for the money, but to keep myself going and staying fit so I don't feel burdened by getting old and doing nothing”

I make my children study and teach them the importance of education which has helped them choose their field and walk their path. My son is an IAS officer and my daughter is a professor at a reputed college. ”

While listening to him, he continued to say, “I drive rickshaw only for 3-4 hours either morning or evening and the rest I teach children and young students. My main focus is teaching them how important education is, being a good human being, respecting everyone, helping others and doing good things and all this will only come with education. ”

The next minute my destination came and I went downstairs, gave him the money and said thank you.


Cc
@belenguerra & @fendit

line steemit.png

My Discord : samsol003#3596

Sort:  

good writing and interesting story, hopefully your writing will be a winner in the competition you are participating in

woww, Thank for your support

 2 years ago 

good post

 2 years ago 

Saludos, hermosa historia de inspiración. En mi país, Venezuela, hay muchas similares, gente de bien y muy resiliente. Gracias por compartir.

Halo @ellieth. Thanks for you attention on my writing.

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for posting and joining! Sorry for the delay in answering your post, and reading it. I will leave you a vote in another of your publications!

Greetings!! We wait for you for more in Writing & Reviews !!

I can understand it. @belenguerra
Thank you for reading my writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71