Decades contest : The most loving decade in my lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago (edited)
I have no doubts about what would be my favorite decade. It's the period of 2000- 2010 of ten years. Part of my childhood was completely owned by that decade. I was a little kid of thousands of dreams and laughed in even night mares.

IMG_20210115_115005.jpg
play times

In the first five years of that decade we didn't have telephones, internet facilities and social medias and even sometimes no electricity in rural areas. But what happened without those things. We survived. It was a beautiful period like sunset. But that decade will never rise again as the sun rises another morning.

Good memories

Once a year very precious moment came in to my life. It was the day we got new text books for the new year. I could not wait to read those books. At that time we didn't have lot of books to read and lot of things to watch. So that books eventually became most precious things and the characters like Pancha, Kandu Ruwan became my friends whom I met from text book stories.

IMG_20210115_120016.jpg
Text book friends

But nowadays there are so many things for kids to read and watch through the internet and television. So I wonder if children today, get the same happiness that I had.

We had cinema, but we didn't go there as a habit. We went there only for children movies and
I watched less than ten movies during that time. But those movies are beautiful enough to be remembered for a lifetime. Butterfly wings, Sooriya Arana, Saroja, Siri Raja Siri are some of those movies. My first cinematic experience in a movie theatre was "Sooriya Arana". Here I am gonna share the beautiful song of it which Embrace the children even in the future.

Language barrier is not a problem for entertaining this and it's all about children world and the nature.

We had enough free time more than the children like today, to be kite runners, be cricketers and make play houses too. We sew leaf clothes by Kurumbatti machines. We were highly connected with nature when we were playing. Our childish thoughts and behaviors were not destroyed, Because we were a free generation of all the ill effects of technology.

IMG_20210115_114916.jpg
Kurumbatti machine

One of my little younger sisters came my home during that decade, in 2003 and I wanted to see the world stop moving forward. I wanted to see her always as a tiny bird.

The society

I think there was a better society than there is today. Deforestation, environmental pollution and air pollution were less than they are today. With the advancement of technology, all that changed. At that time people were not enslaved on social media. They did good things with all their heart, just not only for impressing the society. It was a time when child abuse and murder were less common than they are today. Unlike today at that time we had a quality media art. People have been spiritually strengthened through the high quality creations, by that quality media art.

Bad memories

Although it's my favorite decade there I found a bad side too. There are two bad memories we have in that decade. First thing was the war. The other thing was tsunami in 2004. In both cases, thousands of people lost their lives and millions lost their loved ones.

IMG_20210115_122459.jpg
Army soldiers during the war

In 2009 the war was over. Now we are living in the country, that was given to us by the war heroes who sacrificed their lives. The only thing I can hope for at this time is, that such tragedies do not happen again

Anyway If I have a choice, I'm going to live that decade again. My love for that decade will never fade.

@belenguerra an @fendit thank you so much for this nice opportunity. I hope you will enjoy my writing.

@steemcurator01 and @steemcurator02 thank you so much for the continuous support.
Best regards!!!

Sort:  

There are tons of things to talk about thoes days. I invented different games with my brother. No phones no laptops. Also with our parents, we traveled a lot. But now?

I also remember English pupils book. Oh how much we loved to put covers to new school books. The smell of thoes 📚 . And cartoons😍 I watched scooby doo every evening.

I also remember English pupils book.

Even today the things in those books impress us.😍

And cartoons😍 I watched scooby doo every evening.

I missed those cartoons, because we hadn't a TV at my home. But I watch today.😄

The smell of thoes 📚

yeah!! It was another thing❤

Your post is really nice. It reminded me of my childhood memories. Even without laptops and mobiles, everyone used to have so much fun. I remember how much I would plead to my parents to allow me to watch some tv. I miss not having to worry so much about homework or assignments. :)

Even without laptops and mobiles, everyone used to have so much fun.

It's a brilliant period without all those things.
Thank you so much for the appreciation and visiting 😍

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for participating in the weekly Writing & Reviews contest !!

We hope to continue reading your writings here!

Thank you so much for the opportunity!!

 3 years ago 

😊😊

 3 years ago 

Muchas gracias por participar del concurso semanal de Writing & Reviews!!

Esperamos seguir leyendo tus escritos por aquí!

WRITING & REVIEWS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29