WRITING AND REVIEWS - BIOGRAPHY CONTEST WEEK #02, 25 STEEM IN PRIZES - My granduncle Juan Francisco, my inspiration

My granduncle Juan Francisco, my inspiration.


I think this contest is very beautiful because first you write about who inspires us and also we are grateful for the learning we have had in life.

I can speak Spanish but I have a bad accent and spelling. In #steemit people write very beautifully. All the publications are well done and I still don't know how to do it well.

When I read what this contest was about I started looking for pictures. But I don't have many photos. I would have liked to talk about my sixth grade master Mercedes or Johhny my yoga teacher but I don't have any pictures of them.

The rules of the contest say to mention @belenguerra & @fendit. I also thank @cryptokannon & @steemcurator01 for the support.

The rules say the following:
Any language is welcome. Your entry should be at least 300 word long.
Add, at least, one picture of the person you're talking about.
Resteem this post, so that more people find out about this contest
Your entry should be posted in this community. Make sure to tag us (@belenguerra & @fendit)!
Share the link of your post in a comment
Share your post in Twitter, tagging @steemit or in any social media you want (you should be able to show proof!). Note: Sorry I don't have social networks. I have email



My granduncle Juan Francisco, my inspiration.



Juan Francisco was my grandmother's brother. He was born on June 24, St. John's Day. I don't know what year he was born but he was an older man when I met him.

JuanFrancisco.JPG

He didn't like photographs. The picture I show here was taken by my father.

He died on August 18, 1989.

He was a farmer. He lived a life of much scarcity and much work. He didn't have any children but he helped all his sisters to raise their children. He smoked tobacco and played the mandolin.

Grandfather Juan Francisco, that's what we all called him, we learned the love for the countryside. He would get up at 4am and bathe in the river. Then, he would drink coffee and take an arepa to eat in the mountain. That's what my grandmother used to tell us.

He knew everything about plants. Which cooked roots were good for indigestion, which leaves were good for a sore throat or a headache. There wasn't a wildflower he didn't know the name of.

He knew when to harvest the fruits that were still green. He cultivated cassava and banana plants very well. Possibly, people think that anyone can sow a plant but my grandfather Juan Francisco sowed with the phases of the moon and in the lands he worked. Not everyone knows how fertilize the land to for better results.

He cut wood for the pillars of the houses under construction and that wood was never harmed. He would cut the logs during the waning moon when the sap came down. Many people sought him out for this trade.

Every year, a week before his birthday, he would put 12 piles of salt on a piece of wood and put it under his bed. On his birthday he would take the wood out and say - next year I'm going to plant... and then name the months he would plant.

He would say that St. John would pour water on the salt piles where there will be rain. So, the one that was damp was the good month for sowing.

With my grandfather I learned to respect and love nature. He said that nature gave you everything. Fruits, vegetables, fish, pork meat, even the materials to build a house.

I remember once asking him if a small fruit that had a bush was poisonous. He answered let's wait here to see if a little bird comes. Then, a bird arrived and pecked out several fruits of the plant. Then, told me -Celestine that fruit must be very tasty and very sweet because birds are intelligent and always eat the best fruits.

I think my grandfather Juan Francisco was a wise man. He could not read or write but he knew more about the earth and nature than any other man.

He was a kind man and liked to eat oranges. In the evenings, when he was rested he would play the mandolin while my grandmother and her other sisters prepared dinner.

Many stories I know about Grandfather Juan Francisco were told to me by my grandmother because they are stories from when they were young.

I was left with the memory of his mischievous smile and his senile brown eyes, which stared at my sister and me, as he told us the secrets of the field and the plants.

Thanks to him I learned that the moon and the stars are very important and that they influence our lives. Thanks to him I understood that happiness can come in a simple package. Thanks to him I learned to breathe deeply when I go to the mountains. Thanks to him I love and respect nature.

BeautifulFlower.jpg

Nice day for everyone.

Contest link https://steemit.com/hive-111825/@fendit/writing-and-reviews-biography-contest-week-02-25-steem-in-prizes-concurso-de-biografias-semana-02-25-steem-en-premios

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Thank you very much for sharing this biography dear @magicworld. The stories of your families really touch my heart. I appreciate a lot that you feel enough comfortable sharing in this community.

Thank you very much, dear friend!

 4 years ago 

Please try to share it in another social network!

Sorry, I don't have twitter or facebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79