How do you respond to the provisions of God?

in HeartChurch4 years ago

All glory to God who in his faithfulness has carried us through and has counted us among those who are alive and well even in the midst of the ravaging Covid-19 pandemic.

In my previous posts I discussed God’s divine care over his servants even in a difficult situation. God hid Elijah from the effects of the famine in the land, he fed him miraculously; he took care of Elijah consistently on daily basis with the best of meal and was mindful of providing further direction for Elijah when the river from which Elijah was drinking from got dried. I concluded that God will do the same for us in the midst of the ravaging pandemic as he did for Elijah in his time of need.

images (1).jpeg
image source

Today I will be discussing the second part of the message which is how we respond to the provisions of God and we shall consider the response of Elijah to the provision of God.

1 Kings 17:7-16 KJV
[7] And it came to pass after a while, that the brook dried up, because there had been no rain in the land.
[8] And the word of the Lord came unto him, saying,
[9] Arise, get thee to Zarephath, which belongeth to Zidon, and dwell there: behold, I have commanded a widow woman there to sustain thee.
[10] So he arose and went to Zarephath. And when he came to the gate of the city, behold, the widow woman was there gathering of sticks: and he called to her, and said, Fetch me, I pray thee, a little water in a vessel, that I may drink.
[11] And as she was going to fetch it , he called to her, and said, Bring me, I pray thee, a morsel of bread in thine hand.
[12] And she said, As the Lord thy God liveth, I have not a cake, but an handful of meal in a barrel, and a little oil in a cruse: and, behold, I am gathering two sticks, that I may go in and dress it for me and my son, that we may eat it, and die.
[13] And Elijah said unto her, Fear not; go and do as thou hast said: but make me thereof a little cake first, and bring it unto me, and after make for thee and for thy son.
[14] For thus saith the Lord God of Israel, The barrel of meal shall not waste, neither shall the cruse of oil fail, until the day that the Lord sendeth rain upon the earth.
[15] And she went and did according to the saying of Elijah: and she, and he, and her house, did eat many days.
[16] And the barrel of meal wasted not, neither did the cruse of oil fail, according to the word of the Lord , which he spake by Elijah.

Be sensitive to flow with which God moves

It is God who decides the means through which to provide for his servant.
At the beginning of the famine God used the ravines to take care of Elijah. However, in the second stage of God’s provision God chose to use a widow to take care of his servant. To human understanding this appears strange, why will God use a widow of all people and a poor widow for that matter. God could have chosen to use wealthy individual to take care of Elijah’s need but his choice was a poor widow.

We must be sensitive to flow with the move of God in our lives. We must not position our hearts into certain channels through which God may not even be working through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07