Do Not Be Distracted

in HeartChurch4 years ago


Image Source

No earthly army would want to recruit lazy folks, hence they search and screen to select those they want onboard. So as God, He does not tolerate lazy soldiers either.

So as a bonafide member of God’s army, even at old age, we are expected to still be working, bearing the fruit of the spirit and recruiting more civilians into God’s army.

JOSHUA 14:6-15

Now the people of Judah approached Joshua at Gilgal, and Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite said to him, “You know what the Lord said to Moses the man of God at Kadesh Barnea about you and me. Vs. 6
I was forty years old when Moses the servant of the Lord sent me from Kadesh Barnea to explore the land. And I brought him back a report according to my convictions, Vs. 7
but my fellow Israelites who went up with me made the hearts of the people melt in fear. I, however, followed the Lord my God wholeheartedly. Vs. 8
So on that day Moses swore to me, ‘The land on which your feet have walked will be your inheritance and that of your children forever because you have followed the Lord my God wholeheartedly.’[a] Vs. 9
“Now then, just as the Lord promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years since the time he said this to Moses, while Israel moved about in the wilderness. So here I am today, eighty-five years old! Vs. 10
I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. Vs. 11
Now give me this hill country that the Lord promised me that day. You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but, the Lord helping me, I will drive them out just as he said.” Vs. 12
Then Joshua blessed Caleb son of Jephunneh and gave him Hebron as his inheritance. Vs.13
So Hebron has belonged to Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite ever since, because he followed the Lord, the God of Israel, wholeheartedly. Vs. 14
(Hebron used to be called Kiriath Arba after Arba, who was the greatest man among the Anakites.) Vs. 15

God does not accommodate those with divided loyalty. Your undivided loyalty must be to the Commander in Chief alone.

MATTHEW 10:37

He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. Vs. 37

As a bonafide member of God’s army, you must be focused. There is no room for a lack of concentration.

Too often, believers are often distracted and they are focused replaced with someone or something else. God’s soldier must focus permanently on the commander in chief as He is the source of victory.


Image Source

Even when situations, contrary winds, and circumstances come our way, we must be prepared to keep the Lord as our focus no matter the cost of such an action.

God cannot put up with parasites, loafers, and deserters. In addition to these, there is no room in God’s army for slothfulness.


Image Source

Don't let your surrounding be your focus, do not let your surrounding distract you from the Christian race. Let your focus be on Jesus.

HEBREWS 12:1-3

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, Vs. 1
Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. Vs. 2
For consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself, lest ye be wearied and faint in your minds. Vs. 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99