Crypto-Academy Week 2 Homework Post Blockchain Wallet for sapwood by @faisee

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago (edited)

3C482EE2-1D10-4949-B262-F155B3D0F580.jpeg

Hello steemit

This is my first post in this community in form of Homework by @sapwood because I found that lecture easy to understand so I thought let’s start doing home work in this community from here.

So first of all let me mention the homework given so that we can continue our article.

Home work

text How do I download & install a wallet? Examples(Hint- Etherum, Tron, etc or any other you wish to)? How do I restore a wallet using a Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file? How important is the Mnemonic key or Private Key or Keystore File during the installation/restoration of a wallet? How do you store/secure your keys? Examples? Any Blockchain wallet you have used before, having the experience of any/all the three forms of keys-- Private/Mnemonic/Keystore file?

How do I download & install a wallet?

Let’s talk about tron wallet which can be downloaded from their official website link from here we can simply click the store depending on our mobile phone i-e android and ios. We can download it directly from the store by simply searching in the store.
DA2C5358-AE03-4455-B124-C003E00A601A.jpeg

How do I restore a wallet using a Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file?

After downloading the app, we can click the import account in the first interface of the app, after that we have to accept the user privacy agreement then I had clicked the private key which I pasted through QR code which was given to us when tron integrated into steemit. We can also restore our account through using Mnemonic key or KeyStore File.

07FCEDAA-A99E-47FC-A1D9-FC9886F2C91D.png

How important is the Mnemonic key or Private Key or Keystore File during the installation/restoration of a wallet?

We can understand the importance of these keys from the previous answer as without it I was not able to recover my account. To put it in simple words Whatever you have in your account can be accessed if you have your keys secured otherwise you will loose your account.

How do you store/secure your keys?

I have secured my keys in many ways. First I have download the keys in pdf format and saved that pdf in my laptop locked only accessible to me secured with my pin and finger lock. Secondly I have screen shot of that pdf save in my iphone notes locked with my face lock and third and last I have written those keys and placed them in my locker. These are few things I have done to secure my keys and I’m 100% confident that nobody can crack my passwords because they are set by a process only known to me.

Any Blockchain wallet you have used before, having the experience of any/all the three forms of keys-- Private/Mnemonic/Keystore file?

This is first wallet I’m using after it integrates with steemit so basically I have never used any wallet other that tron.


That’s all from my homework. This post is plagiarism free and the images used in this article are of my own. I hope I have answered all questions correctly and precisely.

Special Mentions

@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@booming01
@booming02
@booming03
@steemcurator06

TO GET THEIR SUPPORT

Sort:  

Thank you for submitting homework task-2 in Crypto-Academy.

We can also restore our account through using Mnemonic key or KeyStore File.

You can restore your wallet using any of the three forms of private keys-- Private key/Mnemonic key/Keystore file.

A private key is a string of alphanumeric characters.

The mnemonic key is a simplified version of the private key which are generally 12 words phrases (15, 18, 21, 24 words also). When you save your Mnemonic key, pay attention to the correct sequence of words, the correct sequence can only unlock your wallet.

A keystore file is a JSON file, an encrypted from of private key. However, a keystore wallet alone is not a private key. So when you recover your wallet using the Keystore File you also need to enter the password(set by you in the previous installation). So be careful with your password, better save it just like you save your private key(if you are using a Keystore file).

Keystore File+Password(set by you) ~ Private Key

So if you ever use a Keystore file to recover the account, you have to enter the password(set by you in the previous installation). So, in that case, you have to remember your password too.

I have secured my keys in many ways. First I have download the keys in pdf format and saved that pdf in my laptop locked only accessible to me secured with my pin and finger lock. Secondly I have screen shot of that pdf save in my iphone notes locked with my face lock and third and last I have written those keys and placed them in my locker.

The best practice to secure your keys is to write it down on a notepad/piece of paper, better break it into 3/4 parts and keep them safe, off-line. Never take a screenshot, never try to store them in an email or cloud storage facilities. You can use a brand new Pen drive to store your keys. But always keep a hardcopy.

Thank you.

Ty for explaining

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86