The poison I almost took

in Motivation Story3 years ago (edited)

image.png
Photo source:pixabay

Growing up, life was hard as it was for most people. You have to struggle sometimes to get through: get through school, settle bills, maintain good health, deal with family drama, the list is endless.

At a point in your life, all you need is for everything to go right: have a good job, the perfect relationship, great home, money in the bank, happiness. As the years go by, it seems these things are far-fetched. This was how i felt some years back after searching for a job endlessly and the debts were pilling up. I began to think: Why not just end it all? What's the point?

I never knew how real depression was until then. It turned me in to a bitter, angry soul and almost ruined all my existing relationships.

Then i remembered one interesting saying, that no house was built in a day. I needed to give myself some more time. I needed to be patient with myself. I realized that for me to ward off depression, i had to look back to where i was years ago and really take notice of how far i have come.

For us to succeed when it feels like everything is failing, we need to search within ourselves and examine what we really love. For me, i love writing, so i took to it and expressed myself each time i am down. It is good to engage in new things that you love. It could be learning new skills, cooking, singing and just anything that works. Always remember that whatever you face now is just a phase that will not last forever. It will pass.

Depression makes you want to isolate yourself and stay away from people. Instead of this, do the exact opposite. Mingle with people, attend social events, make new friends, learn something new.

Try also to learn a new language if you can, travel and see new environment if you have the means, help someone in need daily. There is a feeling of self satisfaction that comes with these. This, i have learnt.

The poison i almost took is one i advice people everyday to avoid and run away from everyday. It is my own way of helping out those in need.

Depression is a poison to the soul. It destroys whatever it touches and makes you doubt yourself. Never give it a chance.

You are better than that poison called depression.

special appreciation
@steemadi
@aneukpineung78
@mofficial

Sort:  

Hmm I almost took that poison but friends helped me a lot to come out of that miserable life.
That’s why it’s good to surround yourself with good minds that will up lift your spirit. Thanks so much @signatory for sharing this quality content.

thanks so much dearie

This is worth reading. Thank you.

thank you so much @elvor22

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46