I made an app for nerdy dads on vacation, introducing Geoflow - location based Wikipedia discovery

in #history7 years ago

This is my first Steem post, so please bear with me as I learn where things are and how this all works! I wanted to share an app I recently developed and launched called Geoflow, originally built mainly for my own personal use, to help me engage with the history of New York City as I went about my daily business. However, now I've made the app public on both the Apple App Store and the Google Play Store, and I'm hoping it's something that others will find useful and interesting as well. The app uses your phone's geolocation to find nearby Wikipedia articles, and present them in a detailed list view, as well as a map view. The map view is movable, allowing the user to search for articles in different regions.

I've enjoyed using Geoflow walking around New York, it's definitely less interesting in more remote locations (suburbs), and right now is probably better suited for use primarily in cities. The app should be useful for travelers and tourists as well, especially those looking to learn a bit about the history of what's around them.

If you're interested, please check it out here: https://www.geoflow.io/ and let me know if you have any feedback! I'm very open to suggestions on how to improve it, as well as promote it. If you're using Chrome as your browser, also check out https://preview.geoflow.io/ which is a web-browser version of the app.

insta-ad.jpg

Thanks!

Sort:  

Props man, love these enabling techs. Also welcome to the platform dont forget to do an #introduceyourself post if you choose of course :) Hit me up if you have any questions.

thanks! I appreciate that and will try to find some time to write an #introduceyourself

Awesome. Look forward to it man :) We need more devs here.

Great concept. Automated tour guide.

Congratulations @patrickdevivo! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @patrickdevivo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84