Ancient Artifacts from a time long gone by - First time shared online

in #history6 years ago

I just thought I would share three artifacts I have in my collection, or well i call it a collection but the truth of the matter is - This is the entire collection, we have a bangle, a ring and a pendant/Amulet.

I would love to know more about these, the age or where they are from - id love to be able to tell you more! but i am clueless. The UK is a country with a very rich history and these we acquired from someone who had dug them up with a metal detector.

Lets take a look at the Bangle..
DSC_0643.JPG DSC_0639.JPG

This is quite a small bangle, maybe made for a child or young woman, it appears to be made of bronze.

Then there is the ring..

DSC_0644.JPG
DSC_0645.JPG

This is actually quite large in size and would most certainly have been owned by a man.

And finally the Pendant/Amulet
DSC_0651.JPG

I believe this to be a Amulet to protect the wearer but it could just be a pendant, I have placed the ring there for scale.

I wish I knew more about these items! They really facinate me, where were they from, when were they made, and what was the lifes like of who worn them. Were these privileged people or peasants? I think maybe middle class somewhere in the middle as privileged folk would probably have gold or silver and these are bronze - yet peasants could probably not afford these items.

I hope you enjoyed seeing these Ancient artifacts that have not been seen for a long time - If you know anything about them please let me know:)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by flutterby29 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 2.30% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @madstacks!

This post has received a 1.92 % upvote, thanks to: @madstacks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71