Butch and Sundance: Harry Tangles with the Law and Takes His Case PublicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history5 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas! We're in a series about two of America's most famous outlaws, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

The story recap

I've been looking at where they came from and how they were raised to determine what caused them to choose a life of crime. We've already established that Butch had zero excuses, he just flat out chose stealing over working for a living.

Now we're breaking down Sundance's upbringing and how he started out but at this point he still goes by his given name Harry. In the last post we saw him make a bone-headed decision to steal a horse and not only that but did it in such a way that everyone knew he did it.

So his skill as a thief, so far, sucks pretty bad. We did find out that he was gifted in one area though, and that was picking handcuff and shackle locks. His escape from a moving train got him rave reviews by the newspapers who glamorized his deeds and he was well on his way to fame.

Another bone-headed decision

We left off yesterday with Harry escaping by jumping off the train that the Sheriff was taking him back to Sundance on. But what he did next made no sense whatsoever.

Instead of traveling to another region where he was unknown he headed straight back to Miles City where they had just picked him up! And ok, I can see going back and taking his horse and gear out of there in the dead of night and disappearing but no, he went back and stayed in the area.

Being that he was only 20 years old I think he may have had a girl that he liked there. He was a smart kid from all indications so that's the only reason I can think of that would make him risk being arrested again.

Harry's second arrest

Well, of course it wasn't long before he WAS arrested again and a local Sheriff, Sheriff Davis, with a Deputy, went to pick him up. He'd been working at a local ranch but someone must have recognized him and with that kind of money offered, $7,000 in todays dollars, it was only a matter of time before he was turned in.

we4uppjr81.jpgsource

I think he lasted about a month before he was found out. It was in this time frame that his mother Annie had passed away but he was laying low out on that ranch, probably using another name, and his family had no way to contact him.

The day the Sheriff got out there to make the arrest it was getting close to dark so they decided to sleep in a line shack there on the property and Harry was shackled to the wall.

The best handcuffs money can buy

The handcuffs and shackles were newly patented, the latest model, and guaranteed to hold the prisoner until unlocked with a key. They settled in for the night and the Deputy fell asleep right away.

The Sheriff appeared to be sound asleep too. Sure enough, Harry pulls another "Harry Houdini" and slips out of the cuffs and shackles and stealthily starts climbing out the shack's window.

Sheriff Davis plays possum

The only problem was, Sheriff Davis was only playing "possum" and wasn't really asleep. When Harry was half way out the window the Sheriff raises his six shooter and says softly.."Kid you're loose, ain't you?"

Harry drops back down to the floor. The rest of the night they take turns watching him. So much for those fancy new handcuffs and shackles!

Now Harry is sitting in a cell in Miles City and reading newspaper articles about him. It seems that during the month that he was trying to lay low there was a rash of robberies in the area. The same things that he had stolen were being taken...horses, saddles and six shooters.

The newspaper hypes Harry's rep

The newspapers had heard about his attempted second escape and were now writing articles about him going on this big crime spree and building up his reputation.

He was sitting in jail reading the articles and getting highly offended so he wrote a letter to the newspaper which they published.

Harry sways the Public's opinion of him

I don't know about you all, but I love reading old letters written by people in the 1800's. Their mastery of language and skill of writing always impresses me. Take Harry's letter for example. Here was a poor cowpoke with very little education, and here is what he wrote:

"In your issue of the 7th inst. I read a very sensational and partly untrue article, which places me before the public not even second to the notorious Jess James. Admitting that I have done wrong and expecting to be dealt with according to the law and not by false report from parties who should blush with shame to make them, I ask a little of your space to set my case before the public in a true light.

In the first place I have always worked for an honest living; was employed last summer by one of the best outfits in Montana and don't think they can say aught against me, but having got discharged last winter I went to the Black Hills to seek employment-which I could not get- and was forced to work for my board a month and a half, rather than beg or steal.

I finally started back to the vicinity of Miles City to get employment on the range and was arrested at the above named place and charged with having stolen a horse at Sundance, where I was being taken by Sheriff Ryan, whom I escaped from by jumping from the cars, which I judged were running at the rate of 100 miles an hour.

After this my course of outlawry commenced, and I suffered terribly for the want of food in the hope of getting back south without being detected, where I would be looked upon as I always had been, and not as a criminal.

Contrary to the statement in the Journal, I deny having stolen any horses up to the time I was captured, at which time I was riding a horse which I bought and paid for, nor had I the slightest idea of stealing any horses.

I am aware that some of your readers will say my statement should be taken for what it is worth, on account of the hard name which has been forced upon me, nevertheless it is true.

As for my recapture by Sheriff Davis, all I can say is that he did his work well and were it not for his "playing possum" I would now be on my way south, which I hoped to go and live a better life."
a0esw215rr.png

He's pretty convincing isn't he? Just an honest, hard working cowboy who just wants to get back home to where people know his real character.

I know this post is already long. My apologies. I'm a sucker for hand written letters from the hand of the actual person who's story I'm telling.

His story continues tomorrow, if his letter is honest, there's still hope for him right?
a0esw215rr.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

hnm64rvjx7.png

PS- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

Dinner may or may not have tire tracks on it!

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Another great installment in this series, I am learning so much about the real history rather than the glossed up version in movies

haha! howdy JJ! yeah the movies make you fall in love with these guys and you forget they're criminals! There are some things the movie got right. For instance, they both seem to be quiet, soft spoken, polite gentlemen.,,.which was very unusual for outlaws. lol.
Great job on the League again, those are my kind of numbers and not easy to attain!

Unfortunately so many people take movies at face value and do not do any research themselves, I have on many films but not on these two but now I do not need to since I have been reading your posts so thanks for that,
as for the league, I don;t know how you did it so consistently before taking your break, I have had more free time and bad weather this past two weeks, but that will change now and I will drop down the list a bit

Keep up the great work on here my friend you are a legend

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 32000 comments. Your next target is to reach 33000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

He is very convincing! I believe him and that's even after seeing the movie! And he is very well spoken, isn't he? I wish I could write half that well. Excellent storytelling @janton, I am enjoying this immensely!

howdy sir Keith! Well sir, I thought this one might be boring since not much action happened in it so that's good to hear. So you would have hired Harry if you were a ranch manager? One thing the movie got right was that both of these guys were very curteous, respectful, soft spoken and friendly. lol. They were very polite even when they robbed people!

And I'll get to one of the descriptions of Harry in one of the posts but when I read it I swear they were describing Robert Redford! Blonde hair and everythiing. But the couple of pictures I've seen of him don't look like that so I don't get it, but it's interesting nonetheless. Thank you so much for the kind words!

I probably would have hired him, and he likely would have stolen my best horse! Then I could have bragged about being robbed by the Sundance Kid!

Ha! that's hilarious sir Keith and you're probably right. He would have been so nice and likable and polite when he stole it! lol.

Hi janton, I always feel very sorry for those who somehow or other get on the wrong side of the law, mostly of which is not their fault. Harry is no exception.

Janton, your writing is flowing along really well, it is nice to be back reading your western adventures once more. I think I will leave your redneck joke today, lol!

Haha! that joke is pretty funny, I hope it doesn't happen ever like that! lol. thanks for your kind words. Well, so far Harry may or may not be guilty or he may felt desperate like he had no choice. We'll have to see what his next choices are to determine whether he was at fault or not. Butch definitely had a choice and chose evil over good.

I haven't read about Butch yet but will get to it though.

Howdy angiemitchell! How are you doin? Yeah, Butch's story is only a few posts and they're pretty short. thanks so much!

Sure enough, Harry pulls another "Harry Houdini" and slips out of the cuffs and shackles and stealthily starts climbing out the shack's window.

Haha maybe they can get a refund on those shackles.

If Harry was alive today he would probably be writing on steemit. You are right his writing is pretty good.

How do you know @janton is a redneck?

He writes about cowboys and rednecks. lol

haha! howdy again rebeccabe! I have no idea how Harry could get out of those cuffs and shackles! That's like an escape artist. He had to have been carrying a key or piece of metal or something in his boots or something.
How do they know I'm a redeck? Just see the way I try to write and it should be obvious!

lol
you know we are kidding around, I think

Absolutely, I love it! lol. How's it going up there anyway, have you gotten alot of snow? I really like Texas winters because generally snow and ice isn't an issue!

Your writing is superb! And Harry is pretty darn good, too! I'd believe him, but then I'm always looking to believe the best about people!

haha! thank you so much for the kind words and about Harry, you ain't alone, everyone believed his version after the paper came out with his letter in it, that was a smart move. I would have given him a second chance too.

Well, he sure didn't admit to ever doing anything wrong. And even may have bragged a bit about jumping off that train. Do you think 100 miles an hour was an exaggeration?

That's right he didn't admit to anything. About the train, after I saw what he wrote I looked up the speed of passenger trains in the 1800's and 60 was about the top speed. Which is still darn fast if you're jumping out of it! I can't imagine how hard a landing that would be but he was young and athletic and full of adrenaline. He might not have known how fast they actually went but I bet it felt like a 100 miles an hour!

He really was lucky that he didn't break every bone in his body! I would have a hard time jumping out of a train that was creeping along!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 10.42% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Janton, Janton, Janton... I can't see the mustache in that pic!

haha! howdy blacklux! you're right, it makes me very suspicious too. How can a major character of the West not have a visible mustache? He does have a big one though as you'll be able to see it in later posts. lol.

Alright! Bring those mustaches!

I am sure I would be suckered in to believing him at first after such a fine letter. Another fantastic installment my friend! I think old letters are fascinating, as well. Not only for what is written, but also to see the handwriting. Especially in this day and age where so much of our "history" is typed! There is just something that makes you feel so connected when you see someone's written word. I look forward to the next part of the story...

Howdy there plantstoplanks! I agree with you, to read the letters written by hand is an experience, especially if they're from long ago. The way they talked and expressed themselves was amazing. In most cases. thank you so much for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88