Hiking Suikerboschfontein - Part 10 - ancient builders

in #hiking7 years ago

If we don't know what we are looking at we might miss it...

Hidden in the tall grass are strange structures, at certain distances they are easily mistaken for just a pile of rocks...

When one steps back a bit... some order emerges and circular rings can be seen...

...and then up close low walls are evident.

In this area at least three different styles are evident representing 3 different peoples that built walled structures here at three different periods in the past.

Type 1:

This is likely the most ancient and consists of larger outer stones with smaller infill rocks in the center.

Type 2:

These are circular enclosures that consist of the same sized rocks piled together to make a low wall.... there is no smaller infill.

These represent livestock pens of late Iron Age Herders and are usually of the order of 3 -1 century old.

Type 3:

These are square, sometimes with window and door openings preserved and represent colonial homesteads of the Boer settlers and are usually around a century or less old.

Up close, crumbling plaster can be seen on the walls.
_

To be continued...

Sort:  

Amazing... i like your blog

nice post with great photos ! Steem on!

Very cool, I can only imagine what life must have been like when these walls were first built.

Interesting, waiting for the next episode.

Its going to be intriguing...

I like things that are related to the history, I think there is a big shelter there, around the stone walls.

the circular ones are the base of a thorn branch livestock pen called a kraal

OK.I see, Kraal, I've hear about that, here, at Papua the people still use that to be a home for living.

@gavvet now that type 1 ring makes more sense to me
somebody has done a trip similar to that and showed me a pic similar to this and said it has something to do with shamanistic practices - whether she was making it up or not I have no idea .

I didn't say a word but it didn't make any sense to me - I should show her this post - so those were actually the reasons for those rings - AHA moment for me.

I'll be going into a lot more detail on Iron Age walling in Southern Africa in the next couple of posts. The majority of it is livestock and homestead related.

@gavvet ah.. that explains the name of the place - was that a former Dutch colony? do they speak similar to Dutch?
Anyway, am always looking forward to your posts

Goeie Dag, SA is a former dutch colony, dutch was a major language until about a century ago, now Afrikaans, a derivative of Dutch, is spoken by a large section of the population...

@gavvet Dank je wel. I see - I wonder if you happen to be in the same place as @rynow - he and another African guy actually commented on my Spruitjes post and they wrote their replies in a Dutch like language but is African - the spelling is way different. When I first saw your 1st "Suikerboschfontein post" I thought you were in Germany or here but location search gave elsewhere - so that explains it. :)

Hy is ook van Zuid Africa, soos ek.

@gavvet replying on your nested comment below
This is exactly how they wrote - I thought weird spelling echt apart maar ik versta het wel :)
grappig ... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25