A Picture Post of A Hike in Taos, NM

in #hike6 years ago (edited)

We didn't stop in the town of Taos. We were in too much of a hurry to get on our way but I did get some quick pics out the window...



I was honestly pretty suprised at how many trees there were. I had imagined Taos to be much more deserty...

While we didn't stop in town we did make time for a short hike!


And since I'm always obsessing over plants when we are out on a hike, I took a ton of pictures with all of you in mind ( :

I'm not the best with cactus identification yet but I'm thinking prickly pear on that one.


This was pretty interesting. The juniper's had mistletoe on them. I learned in my volunteer naturalist class that all trees have their very own types of mistletoe. And I'm pretty sure there is some in that upper picture... and another shot here:

Some cactus closeups... I think this is a chola cactus... or something like that...



I have to say I think it's pretty crazy to find lichen in the desert...

And then some pictures of how beautiful it was when it all comes together...




The grasses were so pretty too... look at those cute little seed heads...

Satashi did not want to go on the walk... so the day was nice and we turned on the fan for her. When I got back to the van she was looking for me ( :


A pretty content cat...

By the parking lot there was a creek so I stopped by to fill up a jug of water for the dogs...

And then took a quick shot of some snow on the bridge...

Can't wait to go back with some more time to explore!

Sort:  

The New Mexico high country can be really pretty!

Yeah the pictures just don't do it justice!

Thanks for taking us on your little hike. Satashi is the cutest. What a brace little adventurous soul. Did you get any treasures(rocks/mineral/crystals) while you were there?

The only things I brought back were a cool piece of cholla cactus skeleton and a small woody piece of a dead saguaro cactus. I found those on a hike. Never got enough time to shop around... a bit bummed about it but I guess it wasn't meant to be this time around.

Yeah...I'm sure there will plenty of other adventures for more treasures to be obtained. I was pretty impressed that was all you brought back...both treasures sound way cool.

I'm impressed with the lack of stuff I brought back too! But everything was such a whirlwind that i didnt have the chance to get my hands on much (;

Never been to NM but it looks beautiful. Love the cat in the back seat.

NM is a really cool place. Really a hidden gem (; I think the "Land of Enchantment" is a fitting name for it.
It was the cat's first roadtrip... I think she kinda liked it!

I love Taos! Haven't been there since I was about 11 years old. Thanks so much for taking me back!

I'm glad that little bit helped bring you back... Honestly, I need to go back again soon myself... did not have enough time there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85