Chive Rescue

in #healthy-home6 years ago

You see what happened was...

@goldendawne had a really cool post about preparing seeds and I was inspired to get out to my garden and play in the dirt.

I had my cellphone with me and just had to take a photo of the sun on my daffodils. They are blooming way to early. They usually bloom mid March and it is still mid February. The seasons have been crazy the past few years. They bloomed in December a couple of years ago.

Chive Rescue 1.jpg

In the above picture you can see one of my vertical pallet gardens.

Last year I had salad from it weekly. Sometimes twice a week.

Then what happened was ...

I saw that my Rosemary and Thyme had survived the winter.

I just had to take their picture...

Rosemary and Thyme.jpg

Then what happened was...

I noticed that where there was once parsley, something else was growing.

I posted this photo to facebook and friends said it looked like petunias. I think they are right. Must have been some stray seeds or something.

That's Not Parsley

That is not Parsley.jpg

As I was inspecting the vertical pallet garden, the sun was shining on my chives.

So I just had to take their picture too.

Chive Rescue ants in the soil.jpg

Then I noticed what looked like a small ant hill in the soil.

I scratched the surface and indeed my chives were living on an ant colony!

They needed to be rescued.

prepared a flower pot.jpg

So I prepared a flower pot.
butterfly pink and blue.png

prepared flower pot 2.jpg

I then dug up the chives and ants went everywhere!

ants everywhere.jpg

So I gave my chives a bath in rainwater.

Washed in rain water.jpg

Then I moved them into their new home....

Chive Rescue in progress.jpg

And watered them well...

watered well.jpg

And set them in the sun.

set in the sun.jpg

I hope they recover. They have very pretty edible purple flowers.

Chives are delicious in many ways. They are not just for baked potatoes.

Thank you for reading my post of my chive rescue experience.

I am hopeful that they will be fine now.

If anyone has a suggestion of how to keep ants out of my vertical pallet garden, please leave suggestions in the comments.

Thank you!

green divider.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 04:40:10
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 667.25/200.00
Total Photos: 94
Total comments: 106
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

AWESOME!!! Thrilled that I inspired you to play in the dirt! Felt good, right???

Look at all those greens! Oh yes! SPRING is coming!

It felt good for sure. It is raining here now so I am quite disappointed I can't get back out there again today. I have to work tomorrow.

Yeah, it's pouring here today and melting all the snow- so now it's foggy! Horrible day- kind of brings out a maudlin feel.

I like foggy mornings, when I don't have to drive somewhere. I love sitting on my back porch sippin' coffee and enjoying the moment. I am hoping that tomorrow the soil will be dry enough to play in the dirt again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20