Why Having a Bath Can Change Your Life! Water, Meditation & Inner Balance.

in #health6 years ago

Meditation is a great way to improve mental health, balance, focus, peace and internal harmony. For many of us though, our bodily pain and daily distractions often results in us giving in to excuses and compromises and so we simply have never experienced the benefit that sustained meditation can bring. A really great way to overcome this is to improve your relationship with your bath tub!

bath

Not only can a good bath experience relax the body, but it relaxes other layers in self too, such that clarity can increase and many troubling thoughts are seen for what they are - just neurotic judgements that have been created while attempting to hide or get away from other issues that we really DO need to be addressing, but aren't. Our mind is essentially one with our body and thus any physical ache or pain could be connected with thought patterns and vice versa. If our patterns result in our mind being too distracted, busy, shut down or depressed - then it makes sense to work with easing the body to also help the mind.

Every body is different and sacred in it's own way - yet too often we are ignorant of what our own body really wants and needs - so we fill our gaps with what we imagine we want and need instead. Great bath experiences can help to close this gap too as the private time, combined with no distractions and a comfortable atmosphere allows the mind to come into balance and more in touch with our real and felt needs.

Benefiting from bath meditation doesn't need to be in any way complicated - but here are some tips I've picked up over the years of exploring in the bath!

  • Both hot and cold water are beneficial for our health for different reasons. Hot is more relaxing and calming, while cold is more enlivening and as long as we get past the initial shock by working into the cold temperature instead of just jumping straight to full cold (with no hot) water, then it can be quite ok. I personally nearly always use hot anyway though.

  • The cleanliness of the water is very important. Typical tap water is NOT clean - despite it being certificated and 'processed'. If you install a whole house, multi stage water filter system with carbon filters and other stages - you will probably find out just how much dirt can be in there when it reaches your house. Municipal water supplies just recycle our waste water by cleaning it and pumping it back to us - so it never hurts to have a filter system in your home to give it an extra clean. The cleaner the water, the more the body can relax without being irritated chemically.

  • Candles are better than electric lights for relaxation and a soothing atmosphere.

  • A few drops of essential oil will also help to relax too. Organic Lavender works well - or whatever you prefer.

  • Diatomaceous clay or other pure clays can be great too to help clear up any skin conditions.

As the mind wanders and might be triggered into deciding you simply must get out of the bath and do something more important instead.. Just return to feeling the body and asking the body what IT wants instead. As long as you really haven't left a fire burning somewhere or are ignoring something else vitally important, you are probably going to be just fine in the bath a while longer. ;)

What exactly you find in your explorations is down to the unique essence of you - but you can guarantee you will always be finding more of yourself and if you intend to 'be you to full' - then that can only be a good thing!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


signature


ura soul t-shirts


Buy My T-Shirts, Gifts & Other Clothing Here.

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness
View My Witness Application Here


ureka.org

Sort:  

I just voted you for witness!

Excellent! Thanks a lot, every witness vote means I am more able to act to help the Steem eco-system by coming closer to able to put more time into it. I follow everyone who votes for me as a witness and so I have followed you already! <3

I know it means a lot to you, i also like you content a lot. Besides that great T-shirt with "Did you asume I'm human" which is just to awesome!

I was just to lazy to figure this witness-voting out earlier, but today i did! :P

So true about bathing, I tend to have baths on an almost daily basis with epsom salts and sometimes grey salt as well. I find it resets me energetically and is the perfect way to get into a meditative state before bed. I make a ritual of it and light candles, burn incense, play ambient backround music... it's become a very important part of my life. Thanks for sharing!

Upvoted and resteemed

Yes, epsom salts are great for relaxing too - I actually find they relax me a bit too much sometimes so I only use them before bed usually. Salt can be good too, yes - I also have some dead sea salt, but found that much of it that is for sale is chemically reproduced imitation and not really what I need to keep me balanced.

I'm glad you found the bath magic too! hehe :)

I have recently discovered Epsom Salts for using in the bath. Really does help me.

I used to be a shower person, but really finding baths so useful these days. Deep relaxation and deep thinking.

Our water comes straight from the springs on our mountain, and with the epsom salts, it is such a perfect experience.

I get my best ideas in the bath. It is my LSD (Life Solution Dilute).

Very nice! Yes, it is pretty much guaranteed that I will get good ideas in the bath - there was a time when I was in there very regularly just for the ideas!

I since found that yoga also has a similar effect too :)

Yoga is something I really want to try. I came across a new steemit yoga teacher recently @sahana-yoga - been trying some of that.

Going to look for some local classes to try it further.

It's been awhile since I actually had a bath, showers are the norm for me. However I do remember the soothing whole-body feeling that came along while relaxing in the tub. Upvoted!


source

dive right in! well maybe not dive, unless you are tiny or have a giant bath :)

I admire, how u know all these facts regarding bathing with so much accuracy and how it's releated to maditation, I guess your an enlighten being , thnx for this awesome share, informative for me ☺

you are welcome! i learned (remembered) about 20 years ago that i am here now to increase enlightenment in me and others - so I have focused greatly on that since then. enlightenment is understanding and consciousness and we all have some of that in us - we just often use our own mind sometimes to tell us that we aren't 'good enough' or capable of being enlightened further... Stopping telling that story is a big help for us in our journey of being the best version of who we are that we can be! <3

I always feel comfortable and more relaxed after having a bath

I like to lay down while in the shower to relax :)

nice - you either have a large shower or small legs :)

haha I just squish myself down into it.

This post has received a 10.21 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ura-soul.

I dream of being able to relax this way. It looks divinely)

in my experience, the main block to being able to find real peace is the gap between our spirit/mind and our emotions/will. when the mind is attempting to 'stay positive' it will typically think it can do that by setting aside and denying the real feelings that don't fit into it's vision of what 'positive' is. one result of this is that the feelings start to feel more and more troubled and angry - to the point where we cannot relax. great peace can be quickly allowed by safely and privately allowing our subconscious and unconscious emotions to express as sound (rather than words or actions). <3

Dissonance is my biggest problem) You made a very accurate description)

yes, i feel you here and understand this because i have been there too and am still healing from my own disassociation. often we think we are 'being nice' to others by pulling our mind away from our real feelings - but the only real way to be nice is to be fully present and allow our own heart to help us balance thinking with feelings. it's a lifelong 'lesson' and process, but healing benefits can be experienced quickly if our intent is strong to balance, heal and evolve.

I like your philosophy of life. I will try to use your advice!

nice sharing,

please kindly visit me on
https://steemit.com/life/@thankful.andrew/why-meditation

thank you :)

Thanks for reminding me to take more baths. When I do take them, I throw in about a handful of pink himalayan salt since it has 84 trace minerals that are very beneficial for your health. It's a better alternative, IMO, than using epsom salt (although I use this when I'm out of himalayan salt).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30