There is No Exercise, Surgery or Medicine That Can Make Up For The Wrong Diet!

in #health6 years ago

Often when we are overweight we might buy into the idea that we simply need to do more exercise to resolve the imbalance. However, this is not strictly accurate...

the70scalled.jpg

While it is possible to create a condition in the body where significant amounts of exercise leads to a loss of fat, the fact remains that if you don't adjust your diet to be more supportive of balance, then you are going to be stuck living life 'up hill'.

When we do exercise, our body uses energy and we feel a need to replace it by eating afterwards. We also use up minerals and vitamins during the exercise, so the need might feel strong as the body seeks to replace what it has lost. If our diet is poor, then we will be nutrient deficient before the exercise and so after the exercise we will be especially low. The desire to eat will then be even higher and so if we are eating poorly, we will be likely motivated to increase our intake just to stand a chance of getting enough minerals/vitamins.

The outcome of all of this is that in theory, the exercise could even end up having us adding to our fat, instead of decreasing it. Note: This thought is not based on scientific study, but on my own imagination based on what I understand and have experienced.

At the very least it should be apparent that if we don't get enough nutrition in our food, we will be overeating as we try to make up for what we are lacking and in the process we will be taking in too much of the other elements of nutrition such as sugars, fats and carbohydrates that may ultimately end up having us put on weight.

do not enter.jpg

A great app to monitor all of this is Cronometer, which is free to use and which allows you to pretty accurately track the main kinds of nutrition you take in over the day - even allowing input of exercise levels and also your own custom food recipes. You will probably find that even if you think you are eating well, that there will be some nutrients you are low on. Adjusting the diet to correct this can become quite an art and I have found that it is actually almost impossible to balance if the diet isn't mainly made up of natural wholefoods - as nature intended.

Given the huge importance of getting a correct nutritional profile in our lives and given the huge amount of money that is spent on surgery and exercise products in an attempt to be healthy and look good -it is quite surprising to me just how little the average person appears to know about this subject. One of the problems is that the mainstream media constantly publishes pieces that contradict each other as they take in payments behind the scenes for running the stories from various industries.. This is why one day they will tell you coffee is good for you and another day it is bad for you.. It may just come down to them having taken payments from the coffee industry on one day and from a fruit juice manufacturer another day!

19225241_115719822368254_6836557023658611423_n.jpg

In any case, if we learn to listen to the body and cross check that with a decent nutritional tracker, such as cronometer - plus take some time to learn about the nutritional profiles of foods (using a tool such as this one - it is possible to get some great results without having to pay anything and just through carefully introducing different foods into our diet.

This is an empowering thing to do and it has no downsides.. just maybe some downSIZES ;)

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Just a perfect post.... Diet is the key here. You can run and do all the pushups you want but if you don't change what you eat, your body won't make the changes you are looking for. Exercise is important but it really is only 30% of the battle. The 70% that is really important is diet.

Be mindful of what you are using to fuel your body and challenge yourself you eat healthy, whole, unprocessed foods.If you can do that with the combination of exercise, you will achieve the transformation you are looking for!

Awesome post my friend! :)

And, I must say, a badass meme!

Very good, thankyou! I have held onto the 70s meme for a long time due to it's magic, though not since the 70s :)

Thank you for this interesting post and the advice on Cronometer it sounds just the thing I need. After an unexpected hospital stay, where I could easily have died without the care I received, it makes one wonder about life, the way things are, and how they should be. I was supposed to be the healthiest one in the family! However, sound advice on diet/exercise (they go hand in hand surely? is always good and I hope many people follow yours. I shall pass it on.

You are welcome. I have found that nutritional understanding is sadly lacking in the mainstream medical system and I am fairly clear that that is actually not an accident since vast wealth is generated by those setting the policies as a result of general ignorance as to correct nutrition.

All that aside, I highly recommend taking some time to learn about nutrition - there are plenty of great teachers around. Here are a few I recommend (they vary in their medical qualifications, but all have something to teach):

https://nutritionfacts.org/
https://www.youtube.com/user/liferegenerator
https://www.youtube.com/user/johnbchiro/search?query=nutrition

I wish you well in your discovery of the strongest version of yourself ;)

Right on point here. Sugar and refined carbs are two of the deadliest things known to man. All those starchy snacks and sugar loaded drinks have created a culture of diabetic, overweight people who think a few cardio sessions will suffice. Diet is king. I’ve been an avid gym goer all my life but unfortunately without the proper diet I have trouble it doesn’t matter how much I exercise, I never get the 6 pack I desire. Healthy living, (nutrition and exercise) are vital parts for a long, active life, but as a whole we have not focused enough on healthy eating.
Good post bud

Thanks, yes, I agree. If you really want a mind blowing experience on this topic, I suggest Amen RA:

And then there's me .
I can eat anything without gaining weight, even if I try to I just can't.

Do you know how many calories you eat on 'heavy eating' days?

I haven't calculated the amount of calories I consume.
But I can assure you that I eat a lot more than most people I know and they end up gaining weight.
Haha and they're jealous of the fact.

Everyone's body is configured differently - I am quite the opposite, in that I can put on fat and muscle very easily - but I do know that if I fast for 4/5 days I will lose most of the fat. Maybe you have very heavy/fat ear lobes? :)

Haha maybe..
Though I'm pretty active in sports and I workout pretty hard.
That's where the food goes.
But I really had to work hard to build my muscles a bit.
I was so skinny that I was invisible.

I see, ok - that's why i asked about the calorie count. You might get a better sense of what is going on by playing with cronometer for a few days.

I see..
I'll give it a shot

in my opinion, the best diet is to chew the food for a long time until it's really soft
so that the intestine does not work hard to digest food

That is certainly potentially helpful for the body, yes. Another important aspect is to utilise food enzymes correctly in the food so that the body doesn't have to use so much of it's own enzymes to digest the food. For example, leaving a banana longer before eating will mean that it's own enzymes 'pre-digest' the food for us.

that's right, I agree. that's also my logic..considering i'm just engineering workers and less understanding of medicine 😉

hehe, well, sometimes engineers who think reliably are more useful than medical professionals who are programmed so heavily in a biased way during their education!

yes, that seems to be true, I remember arguing with a doctor, when asked for opinions about surgery for my father..
thanks for your opinion, I really appreciate it, That's all.

sir i have a question to you.

Are you doctor ??

I'm Question to you because your every post health related and more valuable info provide to us.

I am not a qualified Doctor no. If you research the origin of the meaning of the word 'Doctor', you will find that it actually means 'Teacher' - so from that perspective we are all Doctors in our own way ;)

ok sir thanks for clear to me about you. best wishes for you sir . go ahead i am always connected with you.

great advice, I have slowly educated my family into eating healthier, we snack on watermelon and strawberries for our sweet fix now. It doesn't take much to notice the difference in energy and health

Excellent! Yes, anyone who switches to a raw vegan diet will notice huge differences quite quickly, but it requires a process and shift in psychology to do that. I'm not there yet!

What we take into the body has functions it performs. If I take in good diet, it will perform good in my body, if I take otherwise I expect otherwise. Proper diet is the key to losing fat. I totally agree with your assumptions on exercise.
This cronometer will help monitor our diets and help us monitor the levels of all the nutrients our body needs. To tell if adequate or inadequate.
Really nice and thoughtful initiative. I will surely check it out

Wow amazing topic @ura-soul,
I am myself into nutritious diet. I follow a strict routine. Because I believe that what you eat is what your body reflects. I eat healthy food so that I can be in a good mood and my body supports me.
Thanks a lot for bringing this topic, you spread awareness about good topics. Thanks a lot.

You are welcome, yes - we 'are' what we eat. ;)

And I just had burger king today lol. Though I have been working on doing better. reducing salt, reducing sugar to almost 0 grams a day, etc :)

Everything you can do will help. I have found that I actually have to study nutrition now to get the understandings I need to proceed without randomness knocking me out of balance.

The one I am really struggling to piece together is what I should eat for lunch at work. I can't stand sandwiches anymore. I unfortunately am eating lunch from fast food everyday, that part is my next step to change.

I don't eat breakfast

For dinner I am able to cook and do all that stuff at home. I started making my own spice blends without putting salt in(because the ready mixed stuff is like 80% Daily Salt Value + preservatives). I also have a lot of other flavorings/seasonings that are salt free and organic now. Once I started doing my own seasonings/spices I realized how easy it is and probably a bit cheaper than buying that ready made taco mix or chicken rub or whatever. I do turkey bacon instead of regular bacon now. Starting to steer clear of beef as much as I can. I stopped eating regular pasta and switched to egg noodles, I recently bought some Kammut noodles or something(I think it is called). The tomato sauce I use now is only 1% salt per serving, vs the store bought crap of 15%!!!! I make my own tomato sauce for the pasta now. I do grilled instead of fried.

Stop drinking regular soda years ago, lost like 20 lbs just from that. Went to diet soda, essentially almost done from that(gotta quit my fast food lunch to finish that off 100%). Basically I don't have any sugar in a day, and did that for years so that helped lose some weight.

Bought glass water bottles that are dishwasher friendly, bought a water filter to get the flouride and other crap out, no more plastic water bottles!!

Making some good progress overall, really struggling with what I should for for lunch. Got a good resource for that by chance?

:)

Absolutely, there are a few key understandings to gain about nutrition and food which will help greatly in reaching balance.

This is a science site that packages the results of analysis of lots of nutritional science into video format.. I use this as a reference when wanting to know the answers to specific questions but don't rely on it as absolute fact in any way:

https://nutritionfacts.org/

This guy is practically showing you how to transform your body into a high level of health using nutrition and a bit of exercise and meditation - he's just an 'average guy', so easier to watch:

https://www.youtube.com/user/liferegenerator

This is a chiropracter who is also a doctor of anatomy and teacher of other doctors.. He has a lot of good info on nutrition and health in general:
https://www.youtube.com/user/johnbchiro/search?query=nutrition

My input is, in short:

Switch to organic wholefoods, plant based - at the earliest opportunity.
Raw is better than cooked.
Homegrown and raw is the best - when done correctly.
Smoothies are a great way to get a lot of nutrition into you - juices are a problem because you absorb the sugar too quickly due to the lack of fiber.

Thanks I will check this out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79