Welcome to the Neurotic Mothers Club!

in #health6 years ago

neurotic.jpg

Are we really becoming a nation of neurotic mothers? This is a question I asked myself a lot 10 years ago, when my son was sick and yet no doctor would take the time to listen to me. He had an ongoing cough, every cold went to his chest, he was diagnosed with asthma initially, then went to bronchitis, he was given antibiotics & steroid inhalers, then diagnosed with atypical pneumonia, 3 more courses of antibiotics followed and still no improvement.

Over my years in practice as a homeopath I have come to realise that we parents know our children, we know what is best for them and we know beyond all doubt when they are not well. As a parent (or a patient) it is frustrating when we are allocated our 5 minute slot with the GP, only to leave feeling at best unheard, and often neurotic.

I’ve sat in GP appointments where my doctor has googled my symptoms, where I have been told completely incorrect information, a diagnosis off the back of a blood test, only to find it was wrongly interpreted. Symptoms were all in my head and that I shouldn't google! I have to say I have little faith in my GP. Don’t get me wrong, the NHS is a wonderful resource, we are lucky to have it, it saves lives, there is no doubt about this. But for other less serious health issues I feel it fails many.

Daily I hear stories from my patients about how they and their children are lost in a system of contradictory advice, handed out suppressive medications and often patronised by consultants. I know the system is overstretched. I know the intent is to help, but the ethos of modern medicine is a flawed one. Maybe I am biased from my experience, but time has shown me I am not alone in this.

I came to realise some time ago that we must invest in our own healthcare, to a degree. Sure the NHS is free, but if something isn’t helping your particular condition, do you still keep using it? Many of us are not wealthy and the idea of paying for healthcare when a free option is available is somewhat irritating. Many times the people I treat have been through the medical system, on and off of many drugs, and yet when they come to me they say are still in the same place health-wise, or worse.

We budget for a lot of things in life, food, mortgage, holidays etc. We don’t tend to include healthcare in that budget, yet I would argue that health is as important as eating and having a roof over our head. We have to take responsibility for our health. Not buying that Costa Coffee every day would pay for an osteopath, homeopath, chiropractor etc…

We need to ask ourselves this. If the NHS wasn’t free, would we still be prepared to pay for the treatments we get? If the answer is ‘No’ then it’s time to reassess the situation. That’s what I did 10 years ago, and my son got better. I stopped the antibiotics as they were not working, he had been on 4 different ones over a month, I found a homeopath and within 2 weeks his lungs cleared and to this day he has never had any cold go to his chest.

If we could use additional support for our conditions alongside the NHS, or go elsewhere if they weren't helping us, then this would take the pressure off the NHS. If we stopped stockpiling drugs and only took prescriptions for what we needed this would help the NHS. We need to preserve this service by taking a bit more responsibility where we can.

We will always want and need the skills of the nurses, doctors and surgeons, the diagnostics, blood tests, surgeries, midwifery services etc...but for many conditions we also need to know when to try another approach for ourselves and our family.

Sort:  

Totally!!!
I’m going to share this to my fb page. You said everything I want to say to people about taking control. ❤️

Thank you! I wanted to call it the curse of the arsenicum mother but it’s unfair to do so. We are pushed into an obsessive state by the lack of compassion and understanding I feel.

Title is perfect. 😊 it will appeal to all of us who have had this experience but doesn’t give away the subject of the article entirely so we’ll bother to come and read it all.
It certainly spoke to me personally ... but from about 25 years back with my first daughter before I discovered Homeopathy entirely. My dd18 has discovered how little they do as she has tried going to the GP a few times since she was a teen and come out expecting what she’d expect from Homeopathy (despite having been a sceptic 😊) and got nothing. After me treating her for sepsis and the hospital doing nothing but keep her waiting for 4 hours (by which point our remedies had worked) she tells me she can’t doubt it again. The pain was so intense and then just halved with the first dose.
We have such amazing tools in our kit Tracy. I’d love to see homeopathy brought back into the NHS and replacing the fob offs and the drugs.
X

Too right Sally, it’s like a lady I treated last week for chronic sinus issue, no amount of steroids, antibiotics, dental check ups or osteopath appointments could touch her pain. Couldn’t even wear her glasses for year! One week later and the pain is gone. I feel it’s a shame she had to suffer that for so long when it could have been sorted out. If the nhs funded homeopathy that would have been a prime example of cost saving!!!

Spot on Tracy, totally agree

Congratulations @tracywhite! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Too late to vote, however not too late to tell you that I very much appreciate your post. Reading homoeopathic success stories gives hope. All the best for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85