Social Media Platform "Steemit" Is Therapy For Combat Veteran!

in #health7 years ago (edited)

    

 Is it possible that a social media platform can be therapeutic?  Let me begin by briefly introducing myself.  I had spent about 7 years in military.  I was ordered to deploy to the country of Iraq as a infantry team leader. (Story about me and the children in Iraq https://steemit.com/photography/@thedeplorable1/looking-at-innocence-through-a-soldiers-lens

After over a year deployed, I returned home and was diagnosed with a Traumatic Brain Injury as well as Post-traumatic Stress Disorder. Some of the symptoms of my injuries are isolation, irritability, anxiety, hyper vigilance, depression, headaches and so much more. 


              


 While at a Veterans Hospital, my doctors told me that I needed to stop isolating myself and become more active. They recommended that I get a service dog. The government doesn't pay for the dogs so I raised funds for "Adonis" and purchased my new "best friend".  Some of his task were waking me from nightmares, finding my keys or cell phone if I lost them and so on. This helped out for several years until this year when I needed to retire him as a working dog.  I have not found a replacement for him yet. ( For short videos of "Adonis" and what he does see https://steemit.com/life/@thedeplorable1/in-honor-of-retiring-service-dog-adonis )


      

 Since his retirement, I began to isolate myself from the world again. I lacked motivation to do hardly anything and I felt myself getting depressed. Then one snowy day in January 2017, that all changed. I stumbled across a new social media platform called "Steemit". 


Now I could do some of my old hobbies such as writing and photography and get paid to do it! I didn't have to stray far from my house. This meant that I had less anxiety! It forced me outdoors to capture the beauty of nature with my camera.  It has been well documented that being out in nature is great therapy.  I have also gotten back to writing poems and stories. 


In closing, a sincere thank you to my Steemit friends and family. I look forward to sharing a bright future.  

                                   


If you enjoyed this story, follow me and I will follow you back. Don't forget to  resteem!

*Sources

photos my own except CIB Google images no owner/copyright found.

Sort:  

I spent all of my childhood, and most of my 20s, with a severe dog phobia.

In my late 20s a went through something. Its a long story, but basically I was in a bad place mentally and i was getting worse. Thats when i found Bubba. He wasn't a therapy dog (at least not formally so), but he brought me back from the brink.

We were together for over 12 years. When he died, i was crushed. Part of me wanted another dog, but i felt like there could be no replacement for my best friend.

I waited over two years to get a new dog, and in retrospect, i am sorry that i did. What finally convinced me is i ended up with a roommate who had an adorable little mini-aussie for a couple of months...

Anyway, if having a dog helped you, imo you should consider adopting another one. Even if its not a certified therapy dog (which i know can be difficult to get)

Thank you for sharing your story with me. It is amazing how animals can totally change our lives. I still have Adonis at home but he is getting old. It is difficult for him to jump into my bed to wake me from nightmares. The type of dog that I need cost around 25,000.USD. I can't fly or take a "therapy" dog into some public places.

However, "Service dogs are covered under the "Americans With Disability Act". I am in the planning stages of what to do next as far as another dog. Thanks for your thoughtful and kind comments!

BTW -- both of mine were akitas... which i highly reccomend. Theyre big, calm dogs that don't bark much and are happiest when theyre just laying around chilling with their owner. Im pretty active in akita rescue if you ever want some help finding one for adoption around you.

Welcome! Here is my pep talk. Lol .. I would do all of these. Please forgive me if I have made an assumption that does not apply to you..

  • Find very successful people with similar experiences.
  • Tell everything you know. Protect yourself and your family and create an anonymous account if you need to. If you were tricked then hey you were tricked and people are just going to have to understand. There is plenty one can do to come to terms with this and there is plenty you can do to help other people avoid those mistakes and help yourself feel better. You can saves lives via the Internet.
  • I hear MDMA is pretty good for PTSD. Educate and plan it out to make the most of it. This may open some doors but the rest is up to you. Also this is not good for nerve cells so if I had to do that it would be limited.

Great post. Thank you for sharing your experiences and how Steemit has helped you :)

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/831633023141556226

My pleasure. Thanks for taking the time to read it. Take care! PS. Good idea on the twitter share. I hope we can bring in more users to this great platform. I gave you a follow.

Thanks! Yes Twitter and other social media are an underused resource for spreading the word.

Hang in there, from one veteran to another. We all got your six...

Thank you my friend! We have to stick together as we still need each other.

Thank you for sharing and thank you for your service to your country.

thanks for the comments. Much appreciated!

Did you ever get another dog?

looking, not as of yet. They are very expensive. I had to do private fun raisers and stuff. My dogs cost were over 25,000. usd

Is it a special dog that you need? Could you adopt a dog from The Humane Society? I adopted a dog. She is amazing. The bright spot in my day every day.

yes, in order to be a "service dog", the dog has to be able to perform task. My did 5 task. I did a story on him with video if you want to find out what he did for me. oh, and he still lives with me. I just cant travel with him any more. (yes, he flies on an airplane and lays at my feet) https://steemit.com/life/@thedeplorable1/in-honor-of-retiring-service-dog-adonis
The US Veterans Admin produced the video about him!

I hope you are able to get another service dog soon. Will the VA provide assistance?

That´s a beautiful post and nice message to all of us. It underlines the power of communities. Steem on and Happy Valentine´s Day :)

It's still in it's infancy, but I thought I let you know. There are also video's on youtube.
https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/29/us/ptsd-mdma-ecstasy.html?_r=0

I saw that on the news! There has to be something other than the "Zombie "meds the VA gives me. I am exploring Medical Marijuana for treatment. Unfortunately, it is not legal in my State. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Best wishes!

One more thing.. Check out and follow @corbettreport.. Maybe this will help you get some new perspective and perhaps help you in how you tell your story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09