You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keto & fasting 5 – First step in changing from a standard diet to a keto diet – just eat real food

in #health6 years ago

Great article! I agree taking baby steps toward ketosis can benefit those who are carb-aholics. Those who are already low sugar can jump right over.

Another post I did on healthy alternative sweeteners is here if you care to check it out. In the case of keto, I only suggest Xylitol or Erythritol. Stevia is my last choice as I really don't like the flavor.

Another sweetener (which isn't actually a sweetener) I recently learned about is Glycine. The amino acid Glycine actually has a sweet taste and works great in coffee or tea (not for baking) - 1/4 teaspoon and you get the benefits of Glycine along with a little boost of sweet. For a deep dive into the benefits of Glycine, including regulating blood sugar and sleep, you can listen to this panel discussion by Chris Masterjohn Ph.D.

Looking forward to your next post!
In Peace, Love, and Health
~T

Sort:  

I don't really like the flavour of stevia either, though a lot of people don't notice the aftertaste. I've had some issues with xylitol, but have been meaning to try out erythritol and see if I tolerate that better. I'm not that keen on the flavour of monkfruit either, but have ordered a bag of that mixed with erythritol for my mum and will keep a little bit to try out. Thanks for the link. The more resources and alternatives for people to try, the better.

I'm also intrigued by glycine. I'm a big fan of Chris Masterjohn, so will check out that link. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01