You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trauma & Body Armoring- Why We Are So Tense?

in #health6 years ago

This piece is incredibly helpful. I remember when I was with a physical therapist who was working to determine why I had a blood flow blockage. It turned out I was "armoring" my tail end constantly. We worked to unlearn the bad behavior, but what sticks with me is how she looked at me when she asked, "What are you defending from?" At that time, I had no idea. It was a few years later that c-PTSD manifested in my life as a term I could related to and understand that I was defending against being hit. I still do it, but now I have done much to balance my musculature to prevent the armoring pulling my back out of alignment, pinching nerves and blocking blood flow.

Sort:  

I am only now able to begin to understand why m y jaw is constantly clenched and why my tail bone is tucked and my shoulders do not relax unless I meditate and focus specifically on relaxing and it still takes great effort to undo, and the questions is exactly what she asked you- I ask myself. What am I defending from? Which trauma is the cause of which armoring? Its like my whole body is braced for a giant horse kick...not a pleasant way to live. Going to be working on this for sure!

what have you done to work on it? That is going to be part of my next research. How to stop muscle armoring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85