Seeking the Fountain of Youth: Big Pharma vs Healthy Lifestyle

in #health5 years ago (edited)

drugs-vs-diet.JPG
I keep hearing about drugs being sold to address problems that lifestyle can fix, and since I'm in the middle of one of those problems myself, I feel compelled to share about a cheaper and more healthy solution.

There is already a process our bodies do naturally, if given the chance, called autophagy.

Autophagy is the major eukaryotic degradative process for cytosolic organelles, long–lived proteins as well as misfolded protein aggregates, playing an important role in development, adaptation, starvation, tumor suppression, and aging as well as innate and adaptive immunity. Although mostly referred to strictly as a degradative process, autophagy is also often described as a renewal process; a pathway by which metabolites generated through autophagic degradation are reused either as sources of energy or building blocks for synthesis of new macromolecules.

Quick background

I have type 2 diabetes, which ravaged my system in various ways, including loss of most of my muscle mass (so yeah weakness and easy fatigue), nerve damage (about half of the area of both feet are numb and/or tingly, random sparks/tingles of various feelings, including pain throughout the body, and numbness in various areas), foggy brain, low energy, difficulty sleeping, and quickly deteriorating vision (including cataracts).

You can quickly and easily get into autophagy

A few days into my intermittent fasting (removed breakfast from diet) with high fat, medium/low protein, and very low carbs and I put my body into a state of autophagy. I'm on day 46 now and have been on one meal a day for almost two weeks now. The high fat intake means I have no cravings.

Where's the evidence?

My primary evidence that autophagy is occurring? (1) Doc says my cataracts are clearing up. (2) Some of my nerve damage has gone away, as in I can feel more parts of my feet now!

What's it called?

Oh yeah, that diet- really more of a lifestyle- is called Keto. Please study up at least a little on it before you believe the anti-keto myths about things like fat, LDL, long term effects, salt, etc.

Ketones-vs-Glucose.jpg

Other benefits?

Many! For me, by day 4 ALL my pain was gone and I was able to sleep without drugging myself every night! That pain stayed gone - with the exception of one day, around day 35 into this lifestyle, when I ate too many carbs. It took only a full ~24 hours of getting back on the super low carb train to remove the pain again. Other changes I've noticed include higher and more consistent energy, obvious loss of body fat, and more clarity of thought. Oh and I'm not wasting time eating so often, which means I'm getting more done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23