Neck pain and headaches prevention

in #health7 years ago (edited)

The following illustrates one of the main causes of day-to-day tension headaches seen by a multitude of massage therapists.

Sitting while leaning forward causing forward shoulders and an excessively forward head position can cause tension headaches, I know because I have had them. When you sit like this you are lengthening the muscles along the back of your neck while getting them to contract at the same time to support the increasing weight of your head.

Headaches and neck pain are caused by the lack of movement – like when you are on the computer, driving, or on your cell phone; a fixed position with head forward for a length of time with misaligned shoulders. This causes the neck and upper back to tense up, leading to pain and stiffness in the neck.

photo 3 stickman.jpg

The best position is sitting upright with head and neck neutral so your vertebral column supports the weight of your head. So don’t inflame your muscles by increasing strain on your cervical vertebrae. Making your muscles resist causes the inflammation.

Sit up straight and continue Steeming.
Relaxation a gift we give ourselves.

See "Stretch and relax - one minute relaxation of shoulder muscles anytime anywhere"
https://steemit.com/health/@rebeccabe/fast-stretch-and-relax-series-1

Together we make Steemit a success, so sit up straight and relax.
You can find me always @rebeccabe Massage Therapist

writing, link, and image by me

Sort:  

Thanks. I find it really easy to forget to look after my working environment, and your post just made me raise my monitor a bit more. I think it's probably good to vary things.

you are right and stand up often.. research is showing sitting causes illness.. I get up and walk around frequently...having a little dog helps lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05