Harvest your local herbs!

in #health6 years ago

Roses are not only beautiful but edible.
35EA768A-2702-41A0-919D-134F4C7B300E.jpeg

Just before December some stains of roses closer to the wild rose produce vast amounts of rise hips! Clip some of those little red things for your teas and smoothies! They are very high in Vitamin C
85DFF872-D587-4034-8B54-7389C4118E60.jpeg

Portia Jay's
Address: 16iVpGH4LBcFV4bguqVNBHiWQDYRpChQKo

Sort:  

I learned that the best method for removing the hairs is to freeze them. Do you do this?

Also I think there was another step that involved dehydrating them.

Whats your process?

I haven't heard of that before. Natures freezer did the work here, It was dropping to the 40's at night and the hairs had either already fallen off or easy to brush off with my fingers.

So I do have a dehydrator for things like tomatoes. But for my herbs, hahaha you might get a kick out of this, in the summer I put them in paper bags and keep them in the back of my car. Then I check on them every other day, turn the herbs. In the winter, these rose hips are in a paper bag sitting on my furnace intake. There's my gheto herb drying secrets, hahaha.

Nice. I have a wooden sauna that I use as an apothecary :) I use a dehydrator for some herbs. The things is hella loud though.

Did you build your sauna? I would love to see a post about your sauna. My dehydrator is pretty quiet, it's a Sedona. Yeah I highly recommend using old cars in the summer as dehydrator.

Sorry for the delayed response! I tried to use the app Esteem to write back to your comment and it never went through. I did not build the sauna. It was in the house when I moved in. Its a nice cedar sauna and the herbs really like it in there :)

I have an Excalibur and its hella noisy.

Congratulations @portiajay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I make rose petal candied chips sometimes. :)

How neat! I take my old tea out of the press and steep my hair in it, in a bowl on the kitchen floor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29