You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are green smoothies healthy?

in #health7 years ago

This was a great post! I don't think green smoothies are for me - I'm vegan so I do eat a lot of raw fruits and veggies every day. Having said that, I see how it's much easier (especially for younger people) to consume smoothies than raw vegetables. Quite informative, especially when it comes to iodine information... kind of makes me feel scared lol.

Sort:  

Glad you enjoyed my post Jeremy! Sorry it scared you - but iodine is one of my pet subjects, as I became iodine deficient a few years ago. I don't know if you're in the UK, but the UK is one of the few countries in the world that does not have a government policy of iodising salt. However iodine is added to livestock feed in the UK to improve their fertility - quite ironic really! So dairy products are among the few reliable sources of iodine in the UK. I have an intolerance to cow's milk, and I think that's how I became iodine deficient - I now take iodine supplements.
Certainly if you eat a lot of raw fruit and vegetables anyway you'll be getting enough vitamins and minerals that way - except possibly iodine, as it's distributed very erratically in the soil, so it all depends where the produce you eat comes from.

That's interesting. I'm from Malta (not UK). There are definitely a lot of minerals and vitamins in vegetables and fruit (and soil) - however, as you mentioned, it depends where the produce comes from. I will have to look up symptoms and signs of iodine deficiency - just to be extra cautious.

You might be OK in Malta. I live in Scotland, and a lot of our produce is subject to soil erosion due to excessive rainfall. I get a box of organic veg delivered every week – I think organic growing can improve the nutrient content, but I'm not sure about the iodine content.

Organic is always better overall, but yeah, doesn't mean it is sufficient in everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47